FANDOM


Trigger-like Effects are a type of card effect for Spell/Trap Cards that activate when their activation requirement is met. Trigger Effects are the parallel type of card effect for Monster Cards. Some Pendulum Monsters have Trigger-like Effects as part of their Pendulum Effect.

Trigger-like Effects are Spell Speed 1 effects that make a Chain Link when activated. In general, Trigger-like Effects can be activated during any phase, although many individual Trigger-like Effects have restrictions on the phases in which they can be activated as part of their activation timing. Trigger-like Effects can be either mandatory or optional.

Identifying Trigger-like Effects

For cards with Problem-Solving Card Text, Trigger-like Effects can be identified by looking for a timing or event-related condition, followed by a colon.

Optional effects with the activation timing "Once per turn: You can..." or "During your Main Phase: You can..." are Ignition-like Effects on Spell Cards and Quick-like Effects on Trap Cards, rather than Trigger-like Effects. Trigger-like Effects may use the phrase "once per turn" in their activation timing, but not on its own.

Effects with the phrase "during either player's turn" in their activation timing are Quick-like Effects rather than Trigger-like Effects.

Effects with the activation timing "When this card resolves:" or "When this card is activated:" are card effects that apply during the resolution of the Spell/Trap Card itself, rather than Trigger-like Effects.

Mechanics

Missing the timing

Optional Trigger-like Effects that use the word "when" in their activation timing can miss the timing. This occurs when an optional Trigger-like Effect that uses "when" meets its activation timing, but another action is performed before it has a chance to activate.

If an optional Trigger-like Effect that does not miss the timing or a mandatory Trigger-like Effect meets its activation timing at an instant that Spell Speed 1 effects cannot be activated, such as when a Chain already exists, then it will start a Chain at the next possible opportunity. "If" and "during" are commonly used in place of "when" for effects that cannot miss the timing.

For example, "Amazoness Village" has a "when" optional Trigger-like Effect. If an "Amazoness" monster is targeted by "Soul Taker", when "Soul Taker" resolves first the "Amazoness" monster is destroyed, then the opponent of the player that activated "Soul Taker" gains 1000 LP. While the effect of "Amazoness Village" would have met its activation timing when the "Amazoness" monster was destroyed by a card effect, because a player gained LP before it had a chance to activate, it cannot.

In contrast, "Yang Zing Creation" has an "if" optional Trigger-like Effect and "Supply Squad" has a mandatory Trigger-like Effect. If an "Amazoness" monster is destroyed by "Soul Taker", the Trigger-like Effects of "Yang Zing Creation" and "Supply Squad" can be activated.

Simultaneous Effects Go On Chain

If multiple Trigger or Trigger-like Effects would activate at the same time, they are all be placed on the same Chain without any of them missing the timing.

The order these effects are added to the Chain depends on whether the effect is mandatory or optional, whether it is activated by the turn player or non-turn player, and (in the TCG only) the order in which they met their activation timing.

Activating the card and effect in the same Chain Link

As long as they both meet their activation timings, a Continuous Trap Card and exactly one of its Trigger-like Effects or Quick-like Effects can be activated during the same Chain Link. For example, when the opponent declares an attack, the player can activate "Cybernetic Hidden Technology" and its effect in the same Chain Link.

If a Continuous Trap Card has an optional Trigger-like Effect or Quick-like Effect that can be activated during the Damage Step and that can be activated in the same Chain Link as the card itself, that Continuous Trap Card can also be activated during the Damage Step as long as the effect and card are activated in the same Chain Link. However, mandatory Trigger-like Effects and Quick-like Effects cannot be activated in the same Chain Link as the card during the Damage Step.

A Continuous Trap Card cannot activate its Trigger-like Effect in the same Chain Link as the card itself if that effect sends the Continuous Trap Card to the Graveyard as a cost, because the Continuous Trap Card is not face-up on the field at the time it is activated. If the activation timing includes "while this card is face-up on the field" (such as the Trigger-like Effect of "Predaplanet" and the first effect of "Shinobird Salvation"), that effect cannot meet its activation timing before the Continuous Trap Card is activated, so that effect cannot be activated in the same Chain Link as the card itself. Additionally, the Trigger-like Effects of the cards "All-Out Attacks",[1][2] "Coffin Seller",[3] "Cyber Summon Blaster",[4] "Light Spiral",[5] "Natural Disaster",[6] "Overdoom Line",[7] "PSY-Frame Accelerator",[8] "Spirit's Invitation",[9] "Swiftstrike Armor",[10] and "Unpossessed"[11] cannot be activated in the same Chain Link as the card itself.

This only applies for Continuous Trap Cards, and does not apply for any other type of Spell/Trap Card.

Example

The effect of "Eisbahn" is a mandatory Trigger-like Effect.

Eisbahn-PHSW-EN-R-1E

List of OCG/TCG cards with Trigger-like Effects

Note: This list is incomplete
 Japanese namePrimary typeSecondary typeAttributeTypeLevel/ RankATKDEF
All-Eyes Phantom Dragonゴッドアイズ・ファントム・ドラゴンPendulum Monster
Effect Monster
LIGHTDragon1030002500
Armor Breakerアーマー・ブレイカーEffect MonsterUnion monsterEARTHWarrior3800800
Brain Jackerブレイン・ジャッカーEffect MonsterFlip monsterDARKFiend2200900
Burning Beast灼岩魔獣Effect MonsterUnion monsterFIREPyro415001000
D/D/D Super Doom King Bright ArmageddonDDD超死偉王ホワイテスト・ヘル・アーマゲドンSynchro Monster
Pendulum Monster
Effect Monster
DARKFiend1035003000
D/D/D Super Doom King Purple ArmageddonDDD超死偉王パープリッシュ・ヘル・アーマゲドンFusion Monster
Pendulum Monster
Effect Monster
DARKFiend1035003000
Des Dendleデス・デンドルEffect MonsterUnion monsterEARTHPlant43002000
Edge Imp Cotton Eaterエッジインプ・コットン・イーターPendulum Monster
Effect Monster
DARKFiend724001600
Freezing Beast氷岩魔獣Effect MonsterUnion monsterWATERAqua415001000
Hope Magician希望の魔術師Xyz Monster
Pendulum Monster
Effect Monster
LIGHTSpellcaster425002000
... further results (7 more)
 Japanese nameCard typeProperty
Abyss Script - Abysstainment魔界台本「魔界の宴咜女」Spell Card
Continuous Spell Card
Continuous Spell Card
Abyss Script - Romantic Terror魔界台本「ロマンティック・テラー」Spell Card
Quick-Play Spell Card
Quick-Play Spell Card
Advanced Darkアドバンスド・ダークSpell Card
Field Spell Card
Field Spell Card
Air Cracking Stormエアークラック・ストームSpell Card
Equip Spell Card
Equip Spell Card
Alchemy Cycleアルケミー・サイクルTrap Card
Normal Trap Card
Normal Trap Card
Alluring Mirror Split魅惑の合わせ鏡Spell Card
Continuous Spell Card
Continuous Spell Card
Altergeist Haunted Rockオルターガイスト・ホーンデッドロックTrap Card
Continuous Trap Card
Continuous Trap Card
Amazoness Onslaughtアマゾネスの急襲Trap Card
Continuous Trap Card
Continuous Trap Card
Amulet of Ambition下克上の首飾りSpell Card
Equip Spell Card
Equip Spell Card
Ancient Forest古の森Spell Card
Field Spell Card
Field Spell Card
... further results (166 more)

References

  1. "Individual Card Rulings [A-C]". UDE. All-Out Attacks. Archived from the original on 17 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090217182013/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=A&last=C. Retrieved 15 February 2016.
  2. "Q&A » 召喚制限-猛突するモンスター [Q&A » All-Out Attacks]" (in Japanese). Konami. 1 September 2016. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=7474&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 28 September 2016.
  3. "Q&A » 棺桶売り [Q&A » Coffin Seller]" (in Japanese). Konami. 9 March 2017. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=5492&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 9 April 2017.
  4. "Q&A » サイバー・サモン・ブラスター [Q&A » Cyber Summon Blaster]" (in Japanese). Konami. 28 July 2016. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=6737&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 9 April 2017.
  5. "Q&A » ライト・リサイレンス [Q&A » Light Spiral]" (in Japanese). Konami. 14 January 2016. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=7643&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 15 February 2016.
  6. "Q&A » ナチュラル・ディザスター [Q&A » Natural Disaster]" (in Japanese). Konami. 24 September 2015. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=7272&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 15 February 2016.
  7. "Q&A » オーバー・デッド・ライン [Q&A » Overdoom Line]" (in Japanese). Konami. 31 March 2016. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=8218&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 9 April 2017.
  8. "Q&A » PSYフレーム・アクセラレーター [Q&A » PSY-Frame Accelerator]" (in Japanese). Konami. 9 July 2016. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=12664&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 9 April 2017.
  9. "Q&A » スピリットの誘い [Q&A » Spirit's Invitation]" (in Japanese). Konami. 7 July 2016. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=5402&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 9 April 2017.
  10. "Q&A » 神速の具足 [Q&A » Swiftstrike Armor]" (in Japanese). Konami. 14 January 2016. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=7322&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 15 February 2016.
  11. "Q&A » 憑依解放 [Q&A » Unpossessed]" (in Japanese). Konami. 15 November 2014. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=11596&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 15 February 2016.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.