FANDOM


Level Modulation

I special summoned winged Kuriboh Lv 10 with the effect of level modulation but had previously not special summoned the Winged Kuriboh lv 10 with it's usual effect. After reading the rulings, it states that this is void. However, i still do not understand this as level modulation in no way states anything about it needing to have been special summoned beforehand. 195.188.152.12 (talk) 18:13, July 11, 2010 (UTC)

Konami uses very poor wording to distinguish rulings between Special Summon-only monsters and Nomi monsters.
  • Special Summon-only monsters' texts read "This card cannot be Normal Summoned of Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by/with...". These monsters can only be Special Summoned by the way printed on the card, but can also be Special Summoned from the Graveyard or removed from play area provided they were Summoned by the method printed on the card beforehand.
  • Nomi monsters' texts read "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by/with...". These monsters cannot be Special Summoned in any way other than the method printed on the text and cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard even if they were properly Summoned beforehand.
If you already knew the above, sorry for repeating it. As you can see, "Winged Kuriboh LV10" is a Nomi monster, so it cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard even if properly Summoned beforehand. "Level Modulation" only ignores that last part. Again Konami choose poor wording, leaving that ruling unclear. -- Deltaneos (talk) 19:05, July 11, 2010 (UTC)
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+