Let's say your opponent attacks your teammate and he/she has no monsters, can you use your monster to defend against the attack? This was done in the anime,I wasn't sure if you could do that in real life. Thanks.--Qim1 02:11, 7 July 2009 (UTC)

  • Actually your opponent(s) wouldn't be able to attack your partner as long as you have a monster on your field. they have to attack your monster first, unless they control a monster that can attack directly~MEOW~ Might of the BIRD Empire~~ 02:21, 7 July 2009 (UTC)

GraveKeeper's Servant

How is this card's effect affected by Tag Duels? Do both players discard, or just the one that attacked? 18:57, 7 July 2009 (UTC)

Only the person who declared the attack has to send a card to Grave. --Trivi-AM 18:59, 7 July 2009 (UTC)

Using partner to pay a cost?

I understand that you can fuse with your partner's monsters and tribute them for tribute summons; can you use their hand to pay a discard cost?

Exchange and Creature Swap

Both Exchange and Creature Swap say "both players," but there really doesn't seem to be a way for them to affect all players. Does the controller select which player he wants to trade hands/monsters with, or do you look at the monsters and hands collectively?

  • No, the play that activates either Exchange, Creature Swap or a card similar, the person that activated it has to select a player as that target. With Exchange the person that activated it chooses the opposing Player (choosing 1 or the other). With Creature Swap, if both of the opponents control a monster, the activator of CS has to chose the opponent and the monster.~MEOW~ Might of the BIRD Empire~~ 02:01, 14 July 2009 (UTC)

Can you tribute your partner's monsters for a card effect? For instance, to pay the tribute cost of Cannon Soldier or Morphtronic Datatron. Krishna d 15:48, 26 August 2009 (UTC)

  • Yes, unless the card says to tribute a monster "you control"; you don't control your partner's monsters.

Black Garden

When a player summons a monster, who gets the Rose Token? Does the recieving team decide? Or does it depend on which player summons(i.e. if player 1A summons, player 2A gets the token?)

It doesn't really matter due to the fact that your opponet must attack it first if it is the only monster on the field and you can use your partners monsters as tributes--guest


Can you use monsters in your teammate's hand as Fusion-Material Monsters or Ritual costs? --Guest

  • No you cannot, each player's hand it their own hand and each team cannot share hands... no pun intended or innuendos meant~MEOW~ Might of the BIRD Empire~~ 21:47, 24 July 2009 (UTC)
Actually, as far as I'm aware you can if they give permission. Runer5h 21:50, 24 July 2009 (UTC)Runer5h

in the episodes joey and yu-gi and jayden and syrus duel together they fuse their monsters together to create b skull dragon and UFOroid fighter as i remember yu-gi just fused them with out asking and syrus asked jaden if he could borrow elmental hero tempest so i think it differs so it's a yea bassically

  • The anime is rarely a good source for rulings, since the rules are very different from the rules of the game in real life. --Bluedog (Talk) 20:20, October 22, 2009 (UTC)'
  • The rules do specifically state that you may use your partner's monsters as Fusion Materials; however, it may be that the monsters must be on the field and not in the hand.

Lightning Vortex

I was under the impression that since Lightning Vortex states "Discard 1 card. Destroy all face-up monsters your opponent controls." that you would have to select an opponent to apply the effects to. Krishna d 15:46, 26 August 2009 (UTC)

Yeah, in this case, lightning vortex destroys all monsters on your opponent's side of the field, keyword being side. At least, going by the article. Maybe the article's wrong, I like your reasoning more. I just kind of consider it like Raigeki. But then again, raigeki destroys all of your opponent's monsters on the field. Eh. Sorry, that was a bit counterproductive. Just go with your gut, dude.

  • Well, in this case, I believe the confusion roots from the artice of Lightning Vortex itself. The article's description is different of that directly shown on the card. Either there are 2 versions of the card, or the article description is wrong. Anyway, the card should be able to destroy both opponents' monsters. I agree that "side" probably implies that. Though, I think that it should be elaborated on in the article because none of it explains why lightning vortex affects both players. It will be difficult for others to interpret similar card effects. --Qim1 02:02, January 29, 2010 (UTC)
"Lightning Vortex" will affect all monsters on the opponent's side of field, for both players. You only pick one opponent if a card affects a single player, such as "Exchange". DemonGodAsura 05:53, January 29, 2010 (UTC)

Monster and Magic/Trap Spaces

You know, it doesn't actually say whether or not you can use your teammate's spaces in a 2 v 2 duel. It just states that you each have 5. Does that specifically mean that you can only use those 5? I assume so, but I'd like some confirmation if at all possible.

  • As I'm sure you suspected, you can only place cards in your own quarter of the field. This would likely even apply if you used your partner's monsters as tributes or Fusion/synchro materials; as a general rule, anything you place on the field during your turn always must be on your own section of the field.

Overload Fusion and other graveyard effects

Fusions can be done with your teammates monsters if they are on the field, but what about the graveyard, like with Miracle Fusion or Overload Fusion or what about using Call of the Haunted on your teammates graveyard? 16:42, March 9, 2010 (UTC)

Read the cards. If they say "you" or "your", then they only apply to you, not your partner. DemonGodAsura 16:53, March 9, 2010 (UTC)

Double Agent

So certain card effects could assist you in a Team Duel, given the sitation was appropriate. Certain cards are as follows:

Dark Designator, Super Polymerization, Abyssal Designator, Copycat, Bottomless Trap Hole (if your opponent plays a D.D. deck), D.D. Trap Hole (again, provided your opponent plays a D.D. deck), Stardust Dragon

In cases like that, would you be able to target your partner as your opponent for the effect? Also, in certain other cases, would you be able to attack your opponent's monsters as though they were your opponent? (Of course, given there was an ideal situation where it would be effective)

  • No, I don't think you would be able to treat your partner as your opponent, only your "opponent(s)" as your opponent. But if it doesn't specify who you can activate it on, I think you would be able to target your partner, assuming of course it works. When you said "be able to attack your opponent's monsters as though they were your opponent?" did you mean to ask if you could attack your partners monster as if they were your opponent?--Qim1 (talkcontribs) 15:44, July 4, 2010 (UTC)

Attacking Teammates cards

Could I destroy a teammate's card by battle, to activate effect? (lifepoint damage would be done to our own lifepoints). Such example would be attacking my teammate'sMystic Tomato, so he could get a monster on the field. Is this allowed?--HiddenLight333 (talkcontribs) 08:56, July 16, 2010 (UTC)HiddenLight333

No, you cannot attack your partners monsters. The only legal attack targets are monsters your opponents control. DemonGodAsura (talkcontribs) 18:11, July 28, 2010 (UTC)

Control and Cyber Dragon

If your opponent controls a monster, but your partner controls a monster, can you special summon Cyber Dragon?MiaMelody (talkcontribs) 15:35, July 28, 2010 (UTC)

Yes, as you do not control any monsters. DemonGodAsura (talkcontribs) 18:11, July 28, 2010 (UTC)


Is it possible to activate kalut on my partners blackwing --Daddygray44 (talkcontribs) 20:01, October 1, 2010 (UTC)

No because the blackwing is not one you personally control, it is controled by your partner. --Qim1 (talkcontribs) 20:21, October 1, 2010 (UTC)

Secret Village of the Spellcasters in Team Dueling (Again)

So some time ago this thread took place here at wikia:

Secret Village of the Spellcasters states that "If you control a Spellcaster-Type monster and your opponent does not, your opponent cannot activate Spell Cards. If you control no Spellcaster-Type monsters, you cannot activate Spell Cards." So in a team duel, if one of the team members does not control a spellcaster but one of the other team members does control a spellcaster, could the team member who doesn't control a spellcaster still activate spells? Redd Vampirus 22:35, 18 August 2009 (UTC)Redd VampirusRedd Vampirus 22:35, 18 August 2009 (UTC)

Last I checked, for the purposes of card effects, you are considered to control your teammate's monsters. The effect of "Secret Village of the Spellcasters" would also look at your partner's field. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 04:10, 19 August 2009 (UTC)

but then again the opposite is somewhat stated with:

If your opponent controls a monster, but your partner controls a monster, can you special summon Cyber Dragon?MiaMelody (talk • contribs) 15:35, July 28, 2010 (UTC)

Yes, as you do not control any monsters. DemonGodAsura (talk • contribs) 18:11, July 28, 2010 (UTC)

Is it possible to activate kalut on my partners blackwing --Daddygray44 (talk • contribs) 20:01, October 1, 2010 (UTC)

No because the blackwing is not one you personally control, it is controled by your partner. --Qim1 (talk • contribs) 20:21, October 1, 2010 (UTC)

Also among the few rules here on wikia:

Owner" and "controller" mean the same thing as a standard Duel. The "owner" is the player who's Deck the card started in. "Controller" is the player who currently has the card in one of their zones.

BUT then on answers.com / which are more/less identical to the wikia rules, more is added?:

© 1996 KAZUKI TAKAHASHI © 2 0 0 4 N A S T V T O K Y O If a card references another card that "you control," it counts cards in your teammate's Zones aswell as your own. In the same way, cards that reference a card "your opponent controls" count both opponent's sides of the field.

EXAMPLE: Player 1A has "The Six Samurai ­ Zanji" on the field and Player 1B has "The Six Samurai ­ Irou" on the field. Player 1A can Special Summon "Great Shogun Shien" from his hand because his team controls 2 or more "Six Samurai" monsters.

...And other forums goes on with arguments for both opinions, now what do you think atm? (talk) 14:56, April 12, 2011 (UTC)

ummmm for 2 vs. 2 wiff your partner lose, does his cards stay in the field because i think if sumone lifepoints is over, then the cards thats on their field have to go because they lost

"Your side of the field" vs. "You control"

So these two have always confused my friends and I when team dueling. It seems obvious, where "You control" only applies to monsters on your half, that you control. "Your side of the field" would apply to the shared space between you and your partner. But from the Simplified Effect Text update, [1] it says that part of the update is anything that says "on your side of the field" is now "you control". So does that mean that all those cards that say "on your side of the field" should be ignored and instead considered to say "you control"? If so then that changes the usefulness of a lot of cards for team dueling. Eskimoprime3 (talkcontribs) 13:29, June 20, 2012 (UTC)

Rules for Tag Duel

Apparently they release some rules for Tag Duels [2]. Can someone translate them? --X-Metaman (talkcontribs) 11:30, July 26, 2012 (UTC)

Direct translation using Google translator:

How to play »How to Play Tag Duel Home» How to Play Tag Duel

Teamed up with two people, introduce how to play "Tag Duel" at the same time enjoy the duel of two four two pairs!

Basic tag team duel

How to proceed in turn

   Who plays first will be to the person who won the rock-paper-scissors with four people.
   Turn is transferred as "N" of the alphabet from a player who plays first.
   (The next turn is transferred to the person sitting across the street from the bat first person.)

For special rules in Tag Duel

   The basic rules are the same as those of the two masters.
   You may want to check and consultation, a set of hand and card partner.
   Cemetery, but each will have on the rules to be treated as one, you can use card-see also the partner of the cemetery.
   [From the field and cemetery, back to the deck hand] the case of effects such as, will return the original owner's hand, to the deck.
   If effects such as [Add to hand from the deck] [Special Summon from your Deck], is also different from the original owner of the card, the player who act now will handle its effects on the deck of your own .

Case of a single card

■ You can also target card in the cemetery of partners, such as "pot" Call of the Living Dead "" greedy.

■ You can also exclude the cemetery of the partner card, such as "Miracle Fusion" "Chaos Soldier - - the messenger of the foundation."

■ If the card owner of the original, such as ~ "闘獣 sword" Critters "" is an A, but go to the deck or graveyard to turn of B is a partner, effect or in addition to the hand from the deck to special summon from the deck of the B performed.

■ A case of card effect that affect each other player has to play in the order of who plays first, if the players turn, affects the player of D, if the players turn, the impact player of the A and B C will undergo a process called.

■ If all players are affected, such as persistent magic trap and persistent to affect each other player

After the duel, let's make sure the card is well mixed or not your opponent's partner in his deck.SwordoftheSpirit (talkcontribs) 23:51, July 29, 2012 (UTC)

Opponent, Teammate, or both?

Can my teammate target me with an effect, as if I were an opponent? Example: My partner activates Tremendous Fire, and targets me with it. I chain Barrel Behind the Door, and target an actual opponent.

Is this possible? If it isn't, tell me how many things were wrong with that. Could I chain Barrel Behind the Door to a card my teammate activated against me otherwise? (talk) 09:48, June 28, 2013 (UTC)Nathaniel

No, in a situation like that, your partner is your partner and not your opponent, so Tremendous Fire wouldn't work on them. If, however, you set the duel up as a Battle Royal (where all four duelists are each other's opponents), then you could. Obviously, you'd have to come to some sort of arrangement before the duel so that the 'partners' agree not to turn on each other. Rebster6 (talkcontribs) 10:10, June 28, 2013 (UTC)
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.