FANDOM


This is the talk page for discussing the page, Harpie.

Please try to

  • Be polite
  • Assume good faith
  • Be welcoming

Untitled

I thought the 3-copy limit rule doesn't restrict a duelist from having 3 copies of Harpie Ladies 1, 2, 3, and Cyber Harpie Lady because their effects are only active when the monsters are on the field. Their text says nothing about the deck, thus they have continuous effects, meaning they activate after being summoned. —This unsigned comment was made by Dragonking (talkcontribs) 13:08, 22 November 2008 (UTC)

  • You should check UDE's website. They're active within the deck. See Proto-Cyber Dragon for how they word cards with name changes that happen on the field only.--TwoTailedFox (My Talk Page) 01:41, 24 November 2008 (UTC)

I swear, it's BS rulings like this that make me leave the game more and more. Sure people can still make a WIND deck, but there's no way someone can make a competitive Harpie deck. They did the same thing for fans of Cyber Dragon. UDE basically kills old themes to make way for new ones. —This unsigned comment was made by 71.188.117.164 (talkcontribs) 20:05, 19 March 2009 (UTC)

UDE didn't make the rules or the cards. And they used the same Forbidden and Limited lists as Konami, so they can't be blamed for Limiting "Cyber Dragon". -- Deltaneos (talk) 20:22, 19 March 2009 (UTC)

I removed the rule of 3

The only source to the Harpie rule of 3 is Upper Deck, and Upper Deck no longer holds the rights to Yu-Gi-Oh TCG.

  • Upperdeck's rulings usually reflected Konami's rulings. --Bluedog (Talk) 05:11, September 12, 2009 (UTC)
    • Usually doesn't mean definitely, isn't it a bit misleading to leave it up there when the only source is from a company that Konami sued, and the ruling is no where to be found at the original source anymore? If you can give a source where Konami uses the ruling, please do.
      • Actually, just recently, Upperdeck regained rights to Yu-Gi-Oh TCG. Sapphire 02:42, March 7, 2010 (UTC)
        • Upper Deck did not regain the rights to the TCG. The dispute was settled out of court, and Upper Deck discontinued the TCG, while Konami began to produce TCG products. As for the ruling, all previous TCG rulings are to be used (this has been said by other judges). DemonGodAsura 03:27, March 7, 2010 (UTC)
          • So in the end, does the rule of 3 apply for the different Hapie Ladies? Sapphire 03:56, March 7, 2010 (UTC)
            • Nope, the Rule of 3 (in regards to the Harpie Ladys) is still in effect, unless Konami states otherwise.Altyrell 04:11, March 7, 2010 (UTC)
              • So you can't have 3 copies of Harpie Lady 1, 3 copies of Harpie Lady 2, 3 copies of Harpie Lady 3, and 3 copies of Cyber Harpie Lady within your deck at once? Sapphire 04:25, March 7, 2010 (UTC)
                • That is correct, you can have any combination of those as long as the total isn't above 3, that includes regular Harpie Lady. Harpie Queen is the only exception.Altyrell 04:32, March 7, 2010 (UTC)
                  • if It's continuous then does that mean no trap cards can be activated if someone has jinzo in their deck? because doesn't the old version of Jinzo just say "No trap cards can be activated"?
                    • Stop being stupid. The effect is not "Continuous" The effect cannot be negated so it is not an effect. The card has a different name for communication purposes. (When I say Harpie Lady 1, you know which effect the card has). This is the EXACT SAME as Umi and A Legendary Ocean. Ocean's name is treated as "Umi" at all times. In the Deck, on the Field, in the Hand, when RFP, Even if you use Magical Hats to have it as a monster, in no case is the name anything except "Umi". If you have any other problems with this, Take it up with one of the games like WC10. I am sure it will listen to you. --LordGeovanni- (Talk To Me) *Kupo* 22:15, January 22, 2011 (UTC)
It is classified as a 'Condition'. -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 23:37, January 22, 2011 (UTC)

Cyber Shield

Did Cyber Shield ever make it to english? Or was it kept in Japanese?

Kept in Japan, OCG only card, and I doubt it will ever make it to TCG, because of the "underlying" Bondage theme it has that they tried to censor completely out of the Harpie Ladies. 70.247.169.204 17:25, March 24, 2010 (UTC)
Looks like it's coming out in Storm of Ragnarok

New Harpie Cards?

On the Harpie Page and Storm of Ragnarok Page it says there are new Harpie cards that were released in The Storm of Ragnarok pack, what are these cards?

1 or more of the TCG Exclusives are going to be harpies/harpies support. That's all we know (the effects and the actual card(s) are unrevelead.)

No, we don't know that for sure yet. It may just be the TCG reprint of Cyber Shield, the only OCG-exclusive Harpie support card left. And yeah, that would suck, but it's likely.

For all discussions involving the "Rule of 3" (only 3 "Harpie Lady"s allowed in the Deck)

Okay, a Talk Page should NOT be used for complaining. Use this heading if anyone is confused about the "Rule of 3".

The "Rule of 3" is a rule in the YuGiOh OCG/TCG game which restricts how many cards can be in your Deck. No card with the same name can be in the Deck, Extra Deck, and/or Side Deck more than 3 times. That means you cannot have 6 "Kuriboh" in your Deck. The card "Winged Kuriboh" is a "Kuriboh" card, for Archetype purposes, but its name is not "Kuriboh". Due to the two being different names, I CAN have three of each in my Deck.

A FEW cards have text on them that say that the Name changes under different conditions:

  • "This card's name is treated as "Skull Servant" while it is in the Graveyard." - This does NOT affect the "Rule of 3" because in the Deck the card's name is "The Lady in Wight". I can still have three "Skull Servants" and three "The Lady in Wights" in my Deck. (As well as 3 "Wightmares".)
  • "This card's name becomes "Cyber Dragon" while it is face-up on the field." - Again, in the Deck, this card's name is the same as the top wording. In this case, "Proto-Cyber Dragon". While it is in the Hand, the Graveyard, the Banished Zone, Side Deck, or the Deck, its name is "Proto-Cyber Dragon". With this, a player may have 3 "Proto-Cyber Dragons" and three "Cyber Dragons" in their Deck.
  • "This card's name is also treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin"." - This is an unusual one in which the card has two different names. Just like a nickname, the card is actively called two different things. In the case of this card, and "Neo-Spacian Twinkle Moss", there is no limiting on where the additional name occurs. With that, these cards are named "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" or "Neo-Spacian Glow Moss" while in the Hand, Field, Graveyard, Extra Deck, while Banished, Side Deck, or in the Deck.
  • "This card's name is always treated as "Harpie Lady"." - This means in all locations, (Hand, Field, Graveyard, Banished Zone, Side Deck, Extra Deck, and Deck), which limits a player to three copies of ANY card that is called "Harpie Lady". Consider the different names, ("1", "2", "3", and 'Cyber"), as just an easy way of describing the card that you are using. Just like saying that I use the "Winking Winged Kuriboh". It is not really called "Winking Winged Kuriboh", it is just an alternate art of "Winged Kuriboh". In this case, there are three different effects that that card can have so the different numbers in the name mean nothing more than shortening your statement from "I have two "Harpie Ladies" that raise WIND attack by 300 and one that stops the opponent's monsters from battling for two turns" into "I have two "Harpie Lady 1" and one "Harpie Lady 3".
  • "This card's name is treated as "Umi"." - Same thing as the "Harpie Lady" idea above. You can only have three cards named "Umi" in your Deck.

The Rule is the Rule. If there is a problem understanding it, please post below. Aside that, you have to follow this Rule in Tournaments and in casual Dueling Unless Otherwise agreed upon, by both Duelists, PRIOR to the Duel starting, however that duel will not be recognized by more formal duelists due to the Rules not being followed in their entirety. It is just like the Traditional Format Duels in which the Forbidden list is disbanded into only Limited cards. --LordGeovanni- (Talk To Me) *Kupo* 13:32, November 17, 2011 (UTC)

Feel free to delete any rants and complaints that aren't helping. -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 13:53, November 17, 2011 (UTC)
I felt so and so I did. Hopefully this is put to rest for good. --LordGeovanni- (Talk To Me) *Kupo* 23:39, November 17, 2011 (UTC)

New Harpie cards From Lord of the Tachyon Galaxy

There are new Harpie support cards coming in the Lord of the Tachyon Galaxy in the OCG. I think these new cards will make the Harpie archetype even stronger when they come out in the TCG. Also the harpie monsters "Harpie Channeler" and "Harpie Dancer" puts more fuel for "Harpies' Hunting Ground" and "Hysteric Party". Guardian Skunk (talkcontribs) 01:48, January 21, 2013 (UTC)

Navigation Box

The navigation box is all fucked up, but I can't find where to fix it.

Arosia (talkcontribs) 02:26, June 22, 2014 (UTC)

A lot of them are. SMW (the program that displays all navbox data) is not working properly right now. Nothing to be done but wait for Wikia staff to fix it. Cheesedude (talkcontribs) 02:39, June 22, 2014 (UTC)

Oh, okay. Thanks for the reply.

Arosia (talkcontribs) 20:59, June 29, 2014 (UTC)

*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+