FANDOM


This is the talk page for discussing the page, Chimera the Flying Mythical Beast.

Please try to

  • Be polite
  • Assume good faith
  • Be welcoming

Condition Effect

The mention of it being treated as a "Phantom Beast" is something that's existence depends on the language the card is printed in. I think the card is meant to operate under the same mechanics in each language and don't think it makes sense that it can have an effect type in one language, but not another. If it had no other effects, this wouldn't cause it to be an Effect Monster. One way of looking at is the brackets mean it's an aside, rather than part of the effect.

Regarding this being an OCG/TCG difference, Asian-English cards use the same names and lores as TCG English and are considered to be OCG cards. I don't expect it to happen anytime in the near future, but if any of the cards with the archetype clarification are printed in Asian-English, they will most likely have the same lore as the TCG English. -- Deltaneos (talk) 15:24, October 7, 2013 (UTC)

TCG and OCG sometimes have discrepancies between card lores. We follow what the TCG lore says. Simple Guillotine (talkcontribs) 15:52, October 7, 2013 (UTC)
I thought the Japanese mechanics got the highest priority. If we were to take what's written in the TCG languages and document how the game works through the way it's presented there, wouldn't we be saying that "Celtic Guardian", "Winged Dragon, Guardian of the Fortress #1" etc. are indeed "Guardian" cards, but "Arsenal Summoner" explicitly chooses not to support them, rather than only treating the "ガーディアン" cards, as "Guardian" cards? -- Deltaneos (talk) 16:28, October 7, 2013 (UTC)
I'm not saying that much. However, this sentence is a Condition, and I don't see any reason not to list it. I was saying that effect separation is sometimes different between the TCG and OCG (even more so now with PSCT), but this doesn't change how the card works. For example, for the ease of understanding, "Number C39: Utopia Ray Victory" has an added condition for the expiry of its effect, to signify that both parts of its effect are temporary. Simple Guillotine (talkcontribs) 17:29, October 7, 2013 (UTC)
Since it is not an effect (see "Summoned Skull"), it should not be listed as an effect. This is not the same as cards like "Cyber Harpie Lady", where being treated as X is part of the card's effect. An archetype condition is like a Ritual Summoning condition: since it also appears on non-effect monsters, it is not an effect. --SnorlaxMonster 06:15, October 8, 2013 (UTC)
This is a clarification for players. If it's listed in the Lore for a particular language, we'll document it. However, it's just that, a clarification for players. "Summoned Skull" didn't just become an Archfiend monster in the TCG with the addition of this text, it always was one.--TwoTailedFox (My Talk Page) 17:02, October 8, 2013 (UTC)
Actually, Harpie Lady 1's newest errata also includes the same statement in parentheses, so we should probably create a separate term to be displayed in the effect parameter for this condition. Simple Guillotine (talkcontribs) 20:40, October 8, 2013 (UTC)
The fact that these cards were always archfiends, even without the note, is irrelevant. All errata exists only to clarify or correct incorrectly worded effects, not change them. It was always wrong to play the card differently to the latest errata. --SnorlaxMonster 01:15, October 9, 2013 (UTC)
I've thought over this some more, and I think it appearing on non-Effect Monsters is a non-issue. "Cyber Harpie Lady" has a name condition as its entire effect, and is located at the top of the card text. Non-Effect Monsters such as "B. Skull Dragon" and "Summoned Skull" have their archetype condition at the bottom of their card text, indicating that it is not an effect. Therefore, for "Cyber Harpie Lady" to make sense, we must note "Chimera the Flying Mythical Beast" etc.'s archetype condition in the effect types box. --SnorlaxMonster 12:22, October 11, 2013 (UTC)
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.