Artwork of "Hand Destruction", an example of a card that sends cards to the Graveyard.



Japanese (ruby)


Japanese (base text)


Japanese (romanized)




Send ( (おく) okuru) refers to the act of moving a card to the Graveyard, except moving banished cards to the Graveyard or swapping the Deck with the Graveyard.

Sending cards to the Graveyard

Cards can be sent to the Graveyard in many ways:

Actions that send to the Graveyard

Tribute, destroy, discard and detach are different ways of sending cards to Graveyard.

Cards sent from the hand to the Graveyard are not necessarily discarded. For example, the effect of "The Fabled Cerburrel" activates when it is discarded to the Graveyard, so it will activate if discarded by "Card Destruction" but not when sent to the Graveyard by "Hand Destruction".

Likewise, cards sent from the field to the Graveyard are not necessarily destroyed. For example, the effect of "Dark End Dragon" sends monsters to the Graveyard, so it cannot be negated by cards such as "Stardust Dragon". However, doing so will activate the effects of "Sangan" and "Dandylion", which they activate when sent to the Graveyard, regardless of whether they were destroyed or not.

Moving cards to the Graveyard without sending

Returning a banished card to the Graveyard is not considered to be "sending a card to the Graveyard".[1] Thus, even if a card like "Macro Cosmos" is active, "Miracle Dig" and "Fortune's Future" can be used to return cards to the Graveyard; the returned cards will not be banished.

Swapping the Main Deck with the Graveyard for the effect of "Exchange of the Spirit" is not considered sending to the Graveyard.[2][3]


  1. Konami. Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card Game - Official Rulebook Version 10. pp. 55.
  2. "Individual Card Rulings [D-E]". UDE. Exchange of the Spirit. Archived from the original on 18 February 2009. Retrieved 16 October 2017.
  3. "Q&A » 「現世と冥界の逆転」の効果処理によって、デッキと墓地を入れ替える際に、「マクロコスモス」や「次元要塞兵器」の効果が適用されている場合、処理はどうなりますか? [Q&A » When swapping the Deck and Graveyard due to the effect of "Exchange of the Spirit", if the effect of "Macro Cosmos" or "Dimension Fortress Weapon" is being applied, what happens?]" (in Japanese). Konami. 24 March 2017. Retrieved 16 October 2017.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.