Yu-Gi-Oh! Wiki
Advertisement
Yu-Gi-Oh! Wiki

Problem-Solving Card Text (often abbreviated PSCT) is a method of writing card text used for prints released from July 8, 2011 onward. The purpose of Problem-Solving Card Text is to specify card effects to the point that most situations can be resolved by logically interpreting the card text.[1]

It was announced by Kevin Tewart through a series of blog posts to Konami's Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's TCG Strategy Site.[1][2] It was introduced to Booster Packs with the release of Generation Force[3] and Starter Decks with the release of Starter Deck: Dawn of the Xyz. Reissues of older products, such as Duelist Pack: Kaiba from the Silver Dragon Value Box, often use Problem-Solving Card Text.

Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack was in part created to reprint many old cards with the new text style (including the "HERO" monsters).[4]

Interpretation

Problem-Solving Card Text uses specific words with very particular meanings in the context of gameplay. How to interpret the text is important to understanding how to apply card text to the game.

This interpretation can only be applied for cards that use Problem-Solving Card Text. Cards that were printed with earlier text may use some of the same terms or structures, but this does not necessarily mean that they work as if they were Problem-Solving Card Text.

Text structure

  • All card effects that make a Chain Link include a colon " : " or a semicolon " ; " somewhere in their text (possibly both). If a card effect does not use either, it does not make a Chain Link.[5]
    • The activation of a Spell or Trap Card always makes a Chain Link, but its effect that resolves with the card itself (if any) does not necessarily use a colon or semicolon.[5] This effect is usually the first effect listed in the card's text.
  • Text before the colon " : " describes activation conditions (limits on when or how often a card or effect can be activated).[6][5] These conditions only need to be met when the card is activated.[7]
    • Conditions other than target requirements that have to be met during both activation and resolution are specifically noted in a separate sentence after the effect sentence (e.g. "Zombie Master", "Treeborn Frog").[7]
  • Text before the semicolon " ; " (but after the colon, if any) describes anything that happens when that card or effect is activated (such as costs and targeting).[6][5]
  • Cards with bulleted effects (●) that resolve in the same Chain Link specify whether they resolve simultaneously or sequentially (if sequentially, effects are applied in the order they are listed). In these cases, each effect activated resolves independent of the success of the other(s).

Terminology and phrasing

  • The terms "that target" or "those targets" and "it" or "they/them" have specific meanings in the resolution of the effect.[7]
    • "That target" and "those targets" indicate that targets must still meet the target requirements at resolution to be affected. "Both (those) targets" and "all three targets" indicate that all targets must still meet the target requirements at resolution for any of them to be affected.
    • "It" and "they/them" indicate that the targets do not need to meet the target requirements at resolution, only when targeted.
  • Cards and effects that state "You can only activate this card/effect once per turn/Duel" can be activated again in the same turn/Duel if the activation is negated.
    • For example: "Silver's Cry", which can only be activated once per turn, and "The Seal of Orichalcos", which can only be activated once per Duel, can be activated again during the same turn or Duel if another copy had its activation negated by a card such as "Magic Jammer", but not if these card are negated by the effect of "Number 38: Hope Harbinger Dragon Titanic Galaxy" that doesn't negate a card's activation but only its effects before removing it from the field.
  • Cards and effects that state "You can only use this card/effect once per turn/Duel" cannot be activated again in the same turn/Duel, even if their activation is negated.[9]
    • For example: "Souleating Oviraptor" can only use each of its effects once per turn, while "Dotscaper" can only use each of its effects once per Duel, even if these monsters' effects are negated by a card such as "Solemn Strike".
  • For prints released from July 2017 onward, Quick Effects of Monster Cards specifically say "Quick Effect" in their text before the colon.
    • For prints released prior to July 2017, Quick Effects are marked by either the text "during either player's […]" in its activation conditions or the text "(this is a Quick Effect)" at the end of the effect text. (Despite being printed before July 2017, Maximum Crisis Special Edition uses "(Quick Effect)" to mark them.)

Conjunctives

Resolved… A or B required?
Neither A Both
Sequentially also, after that then
Simultaneously also and if you do and

The conjunctives "and", "and if you do", "also", "also, after that" and "then" have specific meanings.[10]

  • In "Do A, then do B", B happens after A. These things happen in sequence, not simultaneously. A is required for B, but NOT vice-versa: if A does not happen, then stop; even if B cannot happen, you still do A.[10]
  • In "Do A and B", both A and B happen simultaneously. BOTH A and B are required. If you cannot do both, you do nothing.[10]
  • In "Do A, and if you do, do B", both A and B happen simultaneously. A is required for B, but NOT vice-versa: if A does not happen, then stop; even if B cannot happen, you still do A.[10]
  • In "Do A, also do B", both A and B happen simultaneously. Neither is required for the other to occur.[10]
  • In "Do A, also, after that, do B", B happens after A. These things happen in sequence, not simultaneously. Neither is required for the other to occur.

For prints released prior to May 2012, while "and" does indicate simultaneity, it gives no indication of dependency. However, "then" indicates both sequentiality and dependency for all prints with Problem-Solving Card Text.[7]

Changes

Terminology

Current Stylization Previous Stylization(s) Revised/Introduced as of
battle damage Battle Damage Abyss Rising
banish remove from play [4]
leaves the field removed from the field [4]
target select [4]
monster effect Effect Monster's effect
LP Life Points Super Starter: Space-Time Showdown
Union monster Union Monster Duelist Pack: Kaiba/Silver Dragon Value Box
Toon monster Toon Monster Battle Pack 3: Monster League
Flip monster Flip Effect Monster Battle Pack 3: Monster League
Fusion Material Fusion Material Monster
Synchro Material Synchro Material Monster
field side of the field OTS Tournament Pack 1/Premium Gold: Infinite Gold
Tuner Tuner monster The Dark Illusion
material Material Weekly Shonen Jump July 2017 membership promotional card


Changes with notes

Current Stylization Previous Stylization(s) Contexts/Notes Revised/Introduced as of
excavate pick up Definition: "To reveal cards from top of Deck" War of the Giants: Round 2[11][12]
If When Only on mandatory effects. Optional "When: You can" effects remain unchanged. Realm of Light Structure Deck
(Quick Effect) (this is a Quick Effect) Text placement changed from the end of effect to before Condition colon Battles of Legend: Light's Revenge
GY Graveyard Initially inconsistent Maximum Crisis Special Edition (Initial usage)
Battles of Legend: Light's Revenge (Consistent usage)
Trap Trap Card Except when referring to the activation of a Trap Card; Initially inconsistent Maximum Crisis Special Edition (Initial usage)
Battles of Legend: Light's Revenge (Consistent usage)
Spell Spell Card Except when referring to the activation of a Spell Card Battles of Legend: Light's Revenge
zone Zone When used alone; Revoked change Starter Deck: Link Strike

Phrasing

Additions

Phrase Context/Definition Added as of
(except during the Damage Step) Clarifying possible activation timing Order of Chaos
and if you do Premium Collection Tin
also, after that Premium Gold
possession Collective reference of cards under command Return of the Duelist
Cannot be […] Summoned unless
immediately after this effect resolves Used on effect that Summon monsters to clarify that the Summon can be negated. Abyss Rising
(This card is always treated as a/an […] card.) Archetype condition Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants
(This card is not treated as a/an […] card.) Card Database (Initial usage)
Destiny Soldiers (Printed)
(if it was there when […])/(even if not) Structure Deck: Wave of Light

Removals

Phrase Context/Definition Added as of
(Damage calculation is applied normally)
(without damage calculation)
(This Special Summon is treated as a Fusion Summon.) By game mechanics, Fusion Summon is always by card effects Cyber Dragon Revolution Structure Deck[11]
-Type As in Dragon-Type, Warrior-Type, etc. Maximum Crisis Special Edition

Modifications

Current Stylization Previous Stylization(s) Revised/Introduced as of
place […] on the top of […] Deck return […] to the top of […] Deck War of the Giants: Round 2
if this card attacks a Defense Position monster, inflict piercing battle damage
  1. during battle between this attacking card and a Defense Position monster […], inflict the difference as Battle Damage to your opponent
  2. if this card attacks a Defense Position monster, inflict piercing battle damage to your opponent"[4]
Battles of Legend: Light's Revenge
targeted for an attack selected as an attack target [4]
make a second attack
  • attack once again
  • attack twice
make a second and third attack make 3 attacks Yu-Gi-Oh! The Dark Side of Dimensions Movie Pack
also still a Trap
  1. still treated as a Trap Card
  2. also still a Trap Card
Legendary Dragon Decks
(Flip monsters' effects are not activated at this time)
  1. Flip Effects are not activated at this time
  2. (Flip Effects are not activated at this time)
  3. (Flip Effects are not activated)
  4. (Flip monsters' effects are not activated)
  1. Battle Pack: Epic Dawn
  2. Battle Pack 3: Monster League
  3. Astral Pack Six
This card's name becomes […] while […]
  1. This card's name is treated as […] while […]
  2. While this card is […], its name is treated as […]
Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack
(This card's name is always treated as […].) This card's name is treated as […]. Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack
(This card is also always treated as […].) This card's name is also treated as […]. Dragons of Legend
Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set.
  1. This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set.
  2. Cannot be Normal Summoned or Set.
  1. Generation Force
  2. Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World[8]
Must first be […] This card can only be […][8]
Must be Special Summoned […]
  1. This card cannot be Special Summoned except […]
  2. Must be Special Summoned […] and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways.[8]
Battles of Legend: Light's Revenge
You can Ritual Summon this card with […] This monster can only be Ritual Summoned with the Ritual Spell Card, […] Hidden Arsenal 5: Steelswarm Invasion
You take no battle damage from attacks involving this card. You take no Battle Damage from battles involving this card. Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants
(your choice, if tied) (If it's a tie, you get to choose.) Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World
Fusion Summon 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck, using monsters from […] as Fusion Materials. Send, from […] to the Graveyard, the Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on a Fusion Monster Card, then Special Summon that monster from your Extra Deck Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack[11]
replace this effect with […] original effects This card gains […] effects Legendary Collection 5D's Mega Pack
At the end of the Battle Phase, if this card battled
  1. At the end of the Battle Phase, if this card attacked or was attacked
  2. If damage calculation is performed involving this card, at the end of the Battle Phase
  1. Clash of Rebellions
  2. Shining Victories Special Edition
Once per turn, during your/your opponent's […] Phase During each of your/your opponent's […] Phases Master of Pendulum Structure Deck
Once per turn, during the […] Phase (mandatory) During the […] Phase Millennium Pack
negate its effects
  1. negate its effects / its effects are negated
  2. it has its effects negated
  1. Rise of the True Dragons Structure Deck
  2. Weekly Shonen Jump March 2018 membership promotional card
Neither player can activate cards or effects in response to this effect's activation Cards and effects cannot be activated in response to this effect's activation Clash of Rebellions
A (until the end of this turn), [and/then] B. A, [and/then] B. A lasts until the end of the turn. Pendulum Evolution
Once per opponent's turn Once per turn, during your opponent's turn Maximum Crisis Special Edition
(Quick Effect)
  • during either player's […]
  • (this is a Quick Effect)
Maximum Crisis Special Edition
1 Tuner + […]+ non-Tuner monsters 1 Tuner monster + […] or more non-Tuner monsters Battles of Legend: Light's Revenge
(Transfer its materials to this card.) (Xyz Materials attached to that monster also become Xyz Materials on this card.) Maximum Crisis Special Edition
Cannot be used as material for an Xyz Summon. Cannot be used as an Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon. Weekly Shonen Jump July 2017 membership promotional card
detach 1 material from […] detach 1 Xyz Material from […] Weekly Shonen Jump July 2017 membership promotional card
If only your opponent controls a monster If your opponent controls a monster and you control no monsters Starter Deck: Link Strike
Once while face-up on the field: […] […]. This effect can only be used once while this card is face-up on the field. Code of the Duelist
Gains […] ATK/DEF This card gains […] ATK/DEF
This card can attack directly This card can attack your opponent directly Circuit Break
face-up field face-up on your field Cybernetic Horizon

Names

Type/Ability line

Text structure

  • The phrase "in the GY" (previously "in the Graveyard") indicates that the properties of the card must be checked in the GY (e.g. "Armory Arm"). As such, if the card is not in the GY at that time, there is no longer a reference point and the effect disappears.
  • Cards that can be activated in response to the activation of either a card or a card effect include "when a card or effect is activated" in their timing (e.g. "Stardust Dragon").
  • Effects that prevent monsters from being attacked but cannot prevent the opponent from attacking directly specifically note this (e.g. "The Legendary Fisherman"). However, not all cards that prevent monsters from being attacked allow the opponent to attack directly (e.g. "Command Knight").
  • Effects that prevent Summoning but still allow Setting note this (e.g. "Stray Lambs").
  • Flip monsters which have effects other than a Flip effect have a line break between the end of the Flip Effect and the start of the other effect(s) (e.g. "Night Assailant").
  • There is now usually a line break before bullet points (e.g. "Wind-Up Shark").

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Tewart, Kevin (May 20, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 1: Reading the Card's of Tomorrow". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2906. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  2. "Tag - How to read your cards". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?tag=how-to-read-your-cards. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  3. "Product Info - Generation Force". Yugioh-Card.com. http://www.yugioh-card.com/en/products/bp-genf.html. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 Tewart, Kevin (May 23, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 2: New Words & Phrases". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2915. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Tewart, Kevin (June 1, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 3: Conditions, Activations, and Effects". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2947. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Konami. Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card Game - Official Rulebook Version 9.1. pp. 48-49. http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/File:Rulebook_v9.1.pdf.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 Tewart, Kevin (June 1, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 4: The Clues on Your Cards". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2962. Retrieved September 13, 2011.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 Tewart, Kevin (July 27, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 5: Special Summons". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=3111. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  9. [1]
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 Tewart, Kevin (December 12, 2012). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 7: 2012 Update – Conjunction Functions". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=4514.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Tewart, Kevin (December 13, 2013). "New Rulebook Online & Guide to Changes". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=5771. Retrieved December 21, 2013.
  12. Tewart, Kevin (November 27, 2013). "Everything That’s Available for Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG (both now, and soon….)". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=5738. Retrieved December 21, 2013.

External links

Advertisement