FANDOM


Normal draw

Japanese

(つう) (じょう) のドロー

Japanese (ruby)

つうじょうのドロー

Japanese (base text)

通常のドロー

Japanese (romanized)

tsūjō no dorō

English

normal draw

The normal draw is the mandatory act by a player of drawing 1 card at the very beginning of that player's Draw Phase. Unless stated otherwise, cards and effects cannot be activated before the normal draw is conducted. (Effects such as those of "Hino-Kagu-Tsuchi" and "Maharaghi" activate before the Draw Phase begins, and are only applied before the normal draw, so they don't count.)

If a player would conduct their normal draw when they have no cards left in their Deck, they lose the Duel.

Some cards allow the player do to something other than conducting the normal draw (most commonly returning themselves from the Graveyard to the hand), such as "Rank-Up-Magic Astral Force".

It is impossible to conduct a normal draw outside Draw Phase, yet some rulings still redundantly state "normal draw in Draw Phase."

*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+