FANDOM



Pendulum Summon works when U have 2 Pen monsters in Pen Zones and looking at their scales, and between those U can Special Summon any number of monsters up 2 5. i.e. if Scale 1-8 then U can Pendulum Summon any Levels from 2-7, etc.. Pen Summon is 1 time Special Summon. So even U special Summon more than 1 monster it's like U Special Summon 1 monster +/-. http://www.ygorganization.com/ocg-pendulum-summon-mg04-starter-deck-2014-rulings/

Y is it that when U Pen Summon 2 or more monsters U can't activate cards like Black Horn of Heaven, Solemn Judgement,etc. when Pendulum Summon is one time Single Special Summon? --Wasn't 03:50, August 13, 2014 (UTC)

Simple. Cards like Black Horn of Heaven and Solemn Judgement only negate a single monster summon. If you look at Black Horn of Heaven's effect, it stats that "When your opponent would Special Summon a monster: Negate the Special Summon, and if you do, destroy it." Note that the text says "Special Summon a monster", not "Special Summon a monster(s)." If your opponent Pendulum Summons two or more monsters, Black Horn of Heaven cannot be activated, since your opponent is not Special Summoning a single monster. Black Horn can only stop 1 monster's Special Summon, it cannot stop a Special Summon of two or more monsters. ~Blalafoon
Wrong. Only Thunder King Rai-Oh and Black Horn of Heaven cannot negate multiple summoned monsters, as Rai-Oh's text clearly said "your opponent would Special Summon exactly 1 monster", and Black Horn of Heaven's Japanese text said the same thing. Any other summon negating cards like Solemn Judgement, Solem Warning, etc. can be used against Pendulum Summon, no matter how many mons summoned at the same time. "a monster" has nothing to do here. -- (talkcontribs) 05:49, August 13, 2014 (UTC)
As you may have noticed, this is not the OCG. We have seperate card text and rulings for such a reason. The card text "a monster", is completely relevant, because if it said "a monster(s)", then Black Horn could stop a Pendulum Summon of two or more. ~Blalafoon
See also how Bottomless Trap Hole can hit many monsters that were Special Summoned at once, like via Pendulum Summon, due to it using "monster(s)". --Gadjiltron (talkcontribs) 16:49, August 13, 2014 (UTC)
@Blalafoon: You do realize that Black Horn's current text is pre-Pendulum, unlike Rai-Oh, don't you?
And again, "a monster" doesn't mean "exactly 1 monster", check Cyber Dragon's text.-- (talkcontribs) 19:01, August 13, 2014 (UTC)
Expecting every card to get an errata right after a new set comes out is highly unlikely, so until then, Black Horn can't stop a 2+ pendulum summon. And also, it is unneeded for Cyber Dragon to have the "(s)", since it only requires one monster. ~Blalafooon
So if opp control 2 mons, can Cyber Dragon still be summoned?
Same thing. There is no TCG ruling said Horn can only be used on 1 mons, so we follow OCG ruling. Simple.-- (talkcontribs) 03:40, August 14, 2014 (UTC)
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+