Yu-Gi-Oh! Wiki
Advertisement
Yu-Gi-Oh! Wiki

When Obelisk the Tormenter is Normal Summoned while Black Garden is on the field, will Obelisk's ATK be cut in half?--Black Rose 01:01, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

Indeed, since Black Garden don't target, and required each monster to have their ATK power to half, except for Rose Tokens which was summoning by the field itself. --FredCat100 01:04, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

I wasn't thinking about the fact that Obelisk can't be targeted, I was referring to the effect that states Spells, Traps, and Monster Effects cannot be activated in responce to his Summon.--Black Rose 01:09, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

But it also says "When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated.", so I'm guessing Obelisk is unaffected by Black Garden, unless the effect of Garden doesn't technically "activate" each time it cuts a monster's ATK in half. --Blue (Talk) 01:10, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

It seem like Blue boy got the point... So Divine card is big part. --FredCat100 01:11, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

Each time a monster is Summoned, Black Garden will activate. I'm not sure if Obelisk will shut down the activation of the EFFECT of the card, or if it can only freeze cards from being activated.--Black Rose 01:19, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

Well Obelisk prevents effects from being activated when he's summoned, so... Black Garden should be unable to cut his atk or summon tokens from him. --Blue (Talk) 01:21, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

I'm hoping so. I wish ATEMVEGETA or Dues Ex Machina would come by and confirm though.....--Black Rose 01:23, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

That's probably the best idea at the moment. Well good luck with your Obelisks and Gardens and whatever. --Blue (Talk) 01:25, November 28, 2009 (UTC)
Er, where did the list go? --FredCat100 01:37, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

I would believe it would cut his attack in half due to the card being a field card and already activated. DeVast 02:18, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

I would have to agree with DeVast.
You're not activating Black Garden because it is already activated and on the field. The effect of Black Garden is activated when Obelisk is summoned.
I'm not sure if Black Garden targets or not though, but if it does, then it won't affect Obelisk because it can't be targeted. 64.175.40.102 05:57, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

The ATK of Obelisk will not be halved and a token will not be summoned. The text on Obelisk states "When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated." This prevents the effects of Black Garden from activating, neither halving his ATK nor summoning a token. DemonGodAsura 06:41, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

All right, Demon is someone who I can trust with the offical ruling. It looks like my Obelisk Garden deck can continue on with it's amazingness. Thank you Demon!--Black Rose 20:32, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

Ok, the halving effect of BG is a Trigger Effect, Obelisk's Normal Summoning essentially prevents Trigger Effects from happening in response to it's Summoning. Therefore (unless I'm mistaken) BG will not activate, or it will activate but nothing will happen.~MEOW~ Might of the BIRD Empire~~ 21:21, November 28, 2009 (UTC)

You rang?
"Black Garden" will not activate when "Obelisk the Tormentor" is Summoned. The effect of "Obelisk the Tormentor" also prevents the effects of Spell Cards from activating, and the effect of "Black Garden" which halves ATK and Special Summons a Token activates, so the effect of "Black Garden" will not activate.
--Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 07:39, November 29, 2009 (UTC)
Advertisement