FANDOM



Scenario 1: Let's say I control a Master Key Beetle and a facedown Torrential Tribute. I use Master Key Beetle's effect, targeting my facedown Torrential Tribute. Next turn, my opponent summons a monster, I activate Torrential Tribute.

Question 1: To protect my Master Key Beetle from destruction, can I apply Master Key Beetle's continuous effect to send my already-activated-torrential-tribute-that-is-still-currently-faceup-on-the-field to the graveyard??

169.232.93.222 (talk) 17:16, April 21, 2013 (UTC)

"Number 66: Master Key Beetle" don't negating the effect of "Torrential Tribute", so you can send that card to prevent his own destruction from happening and have all other monsters on the field destroyed. --iFredCat 17:35, April 21, 2013 (UTC)
Wait for rulings. Unsure if you can or not. --UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 17:48, April 21, 2013 (UTC)
UltimateKuriboh... I would like to suggest you to read what its effect said. From what I knowledge, it don't "Negate" the destruction or effect of the target card. Does "Mystical Space Typhoon" negate "Torrential Tribute"? That's an answer. --iFredCat 18:13, April 21, 2013 (UTC)
Yes, but it's not certain whether it still counts as the same target if it's flipped face-up. He targeted Torrential while it was face-down. 31.11.101.253 (talk) 18:14, April 21, 2013 (UTC)
How about this: "Scrubbed Raid" with any quick-play or Counter cards, you used the former's effect to send a card to the Graveyard, then you activate that target card's effect, such as Mystical Space Typhoon or whatever that resolved when it was sending to the Graveyard? --iFredCat 18:20, April 21, 2013 (UTC)
Sending a card is a cost; you can't activate that card. 31.11.101.253 (talk) 18:23, April 21, 2013 (UTC)
FredCat, for your perspective, a Head Judge had difficulty confirming this ruling. However, I believe they were leaning towards, "no." (It's not so much as whether or not the card's effect resolves, but whether or not you are allowed to send it to the Graveyard. Think of it like "Giant Trunade" vs. an activated Quick-Play Spell Card; does the Quick-Play return to hand? In that case, no.) Point being, just wait at least 2 weeks for rulings.--UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 18:25, April 21, 2013 (UTC)
Alright, I was just to be sure - I am still learning, like you all do. --iFredCat 18:26, April 21, 2013 (UTC)

Been a few weeks now. Bumping this ruling question.

169.232.220.218 (talk) 07:28, May 6, 2013 (UTC)

*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+