FANDOM



If your opponent Summons Fire Trooper and activates its effect, since it's no longer on the field (and thus under your opponent's control) can you drop Gorz the Emissary of Darkness or not? A similar question applies to if your opponent gets a one-shot burn card off the field with Emergency Provisions. Thanks for your help. Battlemaniac (talkcontribs) 13:58, June 15, 2013 (UTC)

Yes, but only if you control no cards on the field, beside "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness", when his effect resolved. Afterward, your opponent take 1000 damage back to him. --iFredCat 14:12, June 15, 2013 (UTC)
This is from the Rulings, for further clarification: For the effect of "Evil Thorn", "inflict 300 damage" and "Special Summon two "Evil Thorn" in face-up Attack Position" are considered to resolve simultaneously. After the effect resolves, your opponent can Special Summon "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness".
This explains that even if the monster isn't on the field, if it sued an effect which activates on the field, it still counts as being controlled by the opponent. This is because effects always resolve the same place where they were activated, regardless of whether the card was removed from that place by its cost or something else. 31.11.101.253 (talk) 14:18, June 15, 2013 (UTC)
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+