|Forums:||Index → Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Queries → Can you activate a spell or trap on same turn you set it?|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 4802 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
If you activate a card like Dust Tornado and set a spell or trap, can you activate that card on that turn? TeaFan 17:37, 30 April 2009 (UTC)
nope. you must wait until the next turn.
~Specter (cow_pi) 18:23, 30 April 2009 (UTC)
- You can, only if it is Spell Speed 1 (which is most Spell Cards). You cannot activate a Spell Speed 2+ Spell/Trap Card the same Turn you Set it. You cannot activate a Quick-Play Spell Card or any Trap Card the same turn it is Set. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 19:18, 30 April 2009 (UTC)
So if i set a book of moon during my main phase 1 and then attack my opponent's monster I cannot activate book of moon? Why? Picasso 81189 22:29, 30 April 2009 (UTC)
And also....if for whatever reason I cannot activate a set quick-play spell card on the turn it is set then would it be to my advantage to keep a card like shrink in my hand and then attack my opponent's monster and quickplay shrink from my hand since it is my turn and I believe that the turn player can activate a quickplay spell card from his/her hand during their own battle phase. And then in the case that I would not use that quick play spell card to then set it after my battle phase? Just wondering what would give me the most advantage in a duel. thanks. Picasso 81189 22:33, 30 April 2009 (UTC)
- yes, you can not activate it the turn you set it.
- that is exactly right, and in fact, that's exactly what I like to do.
~Specter (cow_pi) 22:51, 30 April 2009 (UTC)