|Forums:||Index → Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Queries → Activation of a card with cost|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 2497 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
Just a simple question: What is the right proper way of playing or activating a card effect that requires a cost (ex. discarding a card)? Should you pay the cost first before revealing the card that you are going to use or reveal first then pay the cost?
- Before PSCT, it's always first line of the effect text, like "Discard a card. Effect here bah".
- After PSCT appear, it's like this - "Once per turn: Discard a card; Effect here bah". Or for one that negating the effect, like "Magic Jammer" - it would following exact same as I wrote, only that "Once per turn" was replaced by "When a Spell Card is activate". Colon is an important part for you to paying attention. If it's after solid Colon but before semi-colon ( ; ), then it's a cost. --iFredCat 09:49, March 27, 2013 (UTC)
- You didn't answer his question. He is asking about the conduct of paying a cost of an unrevealed card, not how to identify what the cost is. To my knowledge, it depends on whether the action/effect starts a chain or not. If it does, you first reveal the card, then pay the cost immediately afterwards. This is why f.e. you need to first reveal Honest in your hand before discarding it for its effect. If the action does not start a chain, such as in the case of monster Special Summoning costs, you pay the cost first, before you reveal the card. Example: Chaos Sorcerer.
- Ultimately, if there is ever any doubt about the order for a particular card, it will be outlined in its rulings.--Eps01 (talk • contribs) 10:18, March 27, 2013 (UTC)
- It's not actually important. It's just like in video games. For example, you'll flip Skill Drain, then pay 1000 LP, or you can discard Honest, and your opponent will get what you're doing. Though, for Honest, it's probably better to reveal it if you're playing IRL. But, for a regular Spell Card, activated from the hand, there's no reason to reveal it; the opponent will see it when it hits the field. MadRest 19:24, March 27, 2013 (UTC)