FANDOM



This thread is for any questions or comments regarding Forum:90% of Answers Here - Most Common FAQ's. DO NOT POST HERE WITHOUT READING IT. Thank you. Lappyzard (talkcontribs) 20:32, February 23, 2011 (UTC)

Questions on topics not covered by the FAQ go in a new topic
Enter topic title here:



A few errors/fixes
  • Gigaplant does not Target, regardless of where it would summon the monster from. The monster is chosen during resolution even if it would be a monster in the graveyard. (As that 1 effect includes the hand)
  • "If Macro Cosmos or Dimensional Fissure is active, you cannot activate effects that require you to SEND cards from your hand to the Graveyard, like Quickdraw Synchron. You can still activate effects that require you to discard, the discarded card will just be removed from play instead."
Not quite. The difference is Send/Discard as Cost vs. Send/Discard as Effect. Not Send vs Discard. Cards like Dark Fusion sends cards, but can still be activated since it sends as an effect (not cost), the monsters will be removed instead.
  • "Divine Wrath can negate an effect at any time from anywhere, including the Hand, Deck, Removed From Play Zone, and during the Damage Step."
... negate an effect [that activates (starts a chain)] at any time from anywhere.....
-Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 00:40, February 20, 2011 (UTC)

you can also activate effects which discard as cost, like Lightning Vortex. It says only discard, not discard to the grave.

Basicly you should differ:

discard and send as effect in combination with dark world monsters (or other which need to be discarded by an effect if any^^).
discard and discard to grave/send to grave as a cost, as stated above. -dest- (talkcontribs) 00:58, February 20, 2011 (UTC)

Some suggestions:

  • Should we move the suggestions and comments, section to another forum, so that this forum contains FAQs only. This forum could still link to the suggestions one, of course.
  • Would it be worth adding a section on priority?
  • Would it be worth adding references, like on the card rulings pages?

-- Deltaneos (talk) 21:39, February 20, 2011 (UTC)

Just a small correction to this one:
Divine Wrath can negate an effect at any time from anywhere, including the Hand, Deck, Removed From Play Zone, and during the Damage Step.
Effects that activate in the (Main) Deck, like Serpentine Princess or Theinen the Great Sphinx, cannot be negated by cards like Divine Wrath, Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode, ect. If an effect is activated in the Extra Deck, like Elemental Hero Absolute Zero or Mokey Mokey King, then Divine Wrath, ect can be chained.
ATEMVEGETA (Talk) 23:28, February 20, 2011 (UTC)

@ Those who offered corrections: Thank you. I do not claim to be a rulings expert, nor do I expect everything on this page to be 100% correct the first time around.

@ Deltaneos: First, that's a good idea on the separate discussion forum. Second, I heard that Priority was going to be no longer in effect after some date, so it might not be worth it at this point. Otherwise I would agree with you. Finally, I don't think references are worth it, because all of my references ARE the Card Ruling pages. ^^

Also if someone could give this a sticky, since I don't know how ^^ Lappyzard (talkcontribs) 21:11, February 21, 2011 (UTC)

seperating the comment section from this faq sounds good to me.

btw, Priority is not going to change in the TCG, so we should add it here. 212.77.163.222 (talk) 09:30, February 23, 2011 (UTC) (forgot to log in >.< -dest- (talkcontribs) 09:31, February 23, 2011 (UTC)

btw, I hope it is ok if I sticky this now. Hope that works like this^^ -dest- (talkcontribs) 09:35, February 23, 2011 (UTC)

Really don't feel like adding a whole Priority section, so I just linked to it in the pages to reference section. If there's enough demand I'll add it though. Going to start a new sticky Forum for questions/comments and link to that, give it a few days for people to find, and then delete the stuff here. Lappyzard (talkcontribs) 20:35, February 23, 2011 (UTC)

since more and more people seem to be unable to understand "while equipped" you should add an faq about Dragunity Aklys.

Its effect does not activate if the monster it is equipped to is somehow removed from the field when the thing removing the monster doesn't also remove aklys. Then it would only be destroyed by game mechanics because of no longer being equipped to anything. -dest- (talkcontribs) 22:21, March 15, 2011 (UTC)

Added. Lappyzard (talkcontribs) 01:01, March 16, 2011 (UTC)

Is there any way for me to lock the main forum so that only certain people can edit it? There have been a number of incorrect and unnecessary edits made recently, which I have had to find and correct. Lappyzard (talkcontribs) 00:14, May 13, 2011 (UTC)

There is a way to lock it, but the levels is auto confirmed, or sysop, so it wouldn't really work.
The things I added are things that are constantly being asked about, and also due to your lack of presence on the wikia, I decided to add it directly.
This includes Send ≠ Discard
Discard = Send
and the Book and MST sections.
Skill Drain is not like Chalice at all, so I split the two. Chalice is link Debris Dragon, so joint those two. Debris Dragon/Junk Synchron etc are asked about more than Chalice.
Like I said in the summary, every good FAQ that contains stuff on Skill Drain (including ones on other forums) will include a line or two about how effects activate and resolve in the same place, followed by examples.
That being said, shouldn't the people who are actually answering most of the questions in the forum also be allowed to edit the FAQ anyways? As they know what are being asked over and over again and know what they are adding. -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 03:33, May 13, 2011 (UTC)

I don't deny that most of it was correct, but I felt that much of it was superfluous. Anyways, I check the wikia daily, even if I'm not particularly active in the forums. There are people who I trust to edit the forum (mostly those who helped me in the creation of it, which includes you), but I'd still like to screen incoming information before posting it. After all, no one is right all the time. My main issue with the newer edits is the style of them. They unnecessarily repeated other information, sectioned awkwardly, and the writing was not of particularly high quality (nor was it of low quality; it was just adequate, which is not good enough). For example, if you feel that Skill Drain and Forbidden Chalice are different enough, then I would give each their own section, and then a third section for Debris Dragon/Junk Synchron. Instead, all 4 remained lumped in the same section. Lappyzard (talkcontribs) 21:43, May 13, 2011 (UTC)

Even if some information might be reapeated here and there - that is not unnecassary. That is just the way, the reader will get what you want to tell him.

You should note, that only very few people will read that whole thing. As good as it is, most readers will search for the specific question they have and jump there, ignoring everything else. So repeating things is absolutely necassary where those information is important.

(for now, if I speak of lines I mean the lines of this)

line 130: those 3 paragraphs you deleted where a good explanation about how such cards work and to get this is the basic to understand how skill drain/challice/debris work. If you think, that is unnecassary, it is definitly not... imo

Also Falzar already grouped the headline here right. Challice works exactly like debris/junk in terms of effect negation, there is no reason to separate them.

now line 148 below. I know that this first paragraph you deleted just repeats something from above, but it has something important what the thing with challice doesn't have: examples. And that is the next point, here and there those are just missing. People will get some things much better if they have examples with specific cards.

Same thing on line 73, the 2 paragraphs you shortened. Those had great examples in them and imo that is a much better way to explain that instead of just writing a sentence with such a general wording.

Now to the book/mst sections you deleted. Imo they can stay. There might be a paragraph about destruction/negation above, but that doesn't seem to be enough. There are plenty of questions about wether those cards can negate effects or not. And again, said section has close to no examples, there you have a perfect explanation. Book on the other hand is the perfect explanation on what happens or doesn't happen when a monster is flipped, and since there is nothing about that here yet beside that little thing in "when targeted cards are chained to"...

oh, and last, speaking of "you want to be screened"... it would be nice to talk with a person writing such tons of text for a while bevore deleting halve of it. I'd be quite angry if someone just deleted halve of that huge work without me being informed as of why exactly or just having the chance to talk to you. -dest- (talkcontribs) 22:53, May 13, 2011 (UTC)

The deletions were not permanent, I just felt that the removed sections needed a lot of cleanup, and I felt it would be better to remove them while I was getting around to it. Some of the wordings were (I thought) confusing, so I removed them in the meantime. I'll re-add the good sections shortly. Lappyzard (talkcontribs) 02:03, May 14, 2011 (UTC)

Now there are multiple errors in there, including the fact that "Losing" and "Halving" are NOT treated as costs, unless they say so. e.g. The Immortal of Thunder makes you lose life points as an effect, not a cost.
There are also multiple spelling errors in there now.
and also, multiple key facts are still deleted, including how Spell and Trap Cards cannot affect themselves, etc. How effects activate and resolve in the same place, regardless of the card. -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 03:09, May 14, 2011 (UTC)

My mistake(s), corrected, and a brief section on Activation and Resolution added. Feel free to fix spelling errors on your own (I have not, as I didn't see any glancing briefly, I may do a more comprehensive search later), there's a lot of text and not everything can be typed exactly right. Lappyzard (talkcontribs) 14:56, May 14, 2011 (UTC)

Armory Arm, Colossal Fighter OTK Does not work

Re: Colossal and Armory Arm OTK. Stephen_Luu_Sydney wrote: Used to be famous OTK combo.

I judged that it did not work because "Armory Arm" need the target in grave to inflict damage.


"This combo does not work. The new text for Armory Arm makes this clear. The key text is in the last sentence:

Once per turn, you can either: Target 1 monster on the field; equip this card to that target, OR: Unequip this card and Special Summon it in face-up Attack Position. While equipped by this effect, that target gains 1000 ATK. When that target destroys a monster by battle and sends it to the Graveyard: Inflict damage to your opponent equal to the ATK of the destroyed monster in the Graveyard.

You do not target the destroyed monster. The only thing that Armory Arm targets is the monster it equips to, and the effect itself does not target anything. Instead, the key is that Armory Arm references the ATK of the monster "the destroyed monster in the Graveyard".

If your Colossal Fighter were to be destroyed by a monster equipped with your Armory Arm, and you chose to activate the effect of Colossal Fighter, the chain forms like this: Chain Link 1: Armory Arm's damage-inflicting effect Chain Link 2: Colossal Fighter's summoning effect If Colossal Fighter revives himself, he's not there for Armory Arm to reference when Chain Link 1 resolves. So no damage."

Kevin Tewart KDE-US A. Director of Game Development & Marketing

Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:39 pm (UTC)

http://tcg.konami-europe.net/judgeforum/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=682&sid=5f034ad77155c8e1045a9652aa40c597

That makes no sense. Fighter was destroyed and sent to the grave, the condition for the effect to activate was met. The condition doesn't state that the monster has to stay in the grave until resolution. I always thought the attack would be checked at activation... -dest- (talkcontribs) 21:30, June 8, 2011 (UTC)

if armory arm won't work. will junk barrage work?--DoitForTheLulZ! (talkcontribs) 21:49, June 8, 2011 (UTC)

there is no difference between those 2, so if armory arm doesn't work that doesn't work also. Also any card that does something based on destroyed monsters values wont work in that case for that reason. -dest- (talkcontribs) 22:52, June 8, 2011 (UTC)

Knew it since April. -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 02:36, June 9, 2011 (UTC)
U can just play 2 colossals (if this combo dont work)69.156.87.190 (talk) 23:50, June 9, 2011 (UTC)

Totem dragon

First of all I apologize for asking a question here in the forum in another language than English, was not deliberate.

If possible I would like to resolve a complaint I have about the dragon totem, if it is possible to be taxed to the set of a dragon that requires 2 tributes.

With the best lengths,

Marcio Silva —This unsigned comment was made by Tuxé (talkcontribs) 15:00, August 8, 2011

Thank you, but do not replaced the old version, they are sometime important. So to answer your question, no; you required to have them face-up in order to activate it effect to tribute as two fodders. As of the Game Mechanic; they cannot identity the effect if they are face-down, as well as they cannot ever identity the level/rank, ATK/DEF and ever type/attribute. And you should do four tildes (without space, since they won't work separate) at end of your comment. --FredCat 15:06, August 8, 2011 (UTC)
I'm not exactly sure what the question is, but yes, you can Tribute a face-down "Totem Dragon" and get its effect. You can also Tribute Set a Level 7+ monster by Tributing "Totem Dragon" and applying its effect. --Deus Ex Machina 23:21, September 22, 2011 (UTC)

Could Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode negate effects away from the field, like effects that activate in the grave or hand? Say, effect's from Dark World Monsters?

Yes.-- (talkcontribs) 06:28, September 18, 2011 (UTC)

Why don´t you put ALL this correct rulings in the rulings of the cards! That be a good way to not complicate our lifes!! Then, why are there "rulings" in every card if you can´t found the rule or correct use you want in there??? Please do something with that.—This unsigned comment was made by Koryuseness (talkcontribs) 22:08, 2011 December 30 (UTC)

All rulings that go on the rulings pages here must be an exact quote of something Official (like the rulings Konami release). These may be correct, but they are not Official. -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 02:26, December 31, 2011 (UTC)
Sounds fair, may I ask how we can know for sure what makes it official? Written in any Konami or Shonen Jump Article? Just Konami? If everyone knew, that would make things a lot easier.--Dragonking (talkcontribs) 07:15, January 16, 2012 (UTC)
From Konami.
Rulings from UDE (which were considered official before Konami took over are noted as Previously Official and can be kept). -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 07:19, January 16, 2012 (UTC)

Ritual Summons

The FAQ mentions the difference between Sending From Hand to Graveyard and Discarding. When tributing a monster from the hand as a cost for a ritual summon is it considered sending from hand to grave, discarding, or neither? 19:55, January 3, 2012 (UTC)

It is considered sending, but it is not a cost. Tributing monsters is part of the effect. Lappyzard (talkcontribs) 21:22, January 3, 2012 (UTC)

End Phase effects

There are many card effects that apply "until the end phase". I asked a judge at a card store once that it means until the end phase starts, and doesn't apply for the duration of the end phase. I never thought to ask any official Konami judge and I don't see anything about that on this site, so I would like to suggest that someone confirm whether or not what I was told is true and then add it to the end phase article. Then perhaps it could also be included on the 90% answers page as well.--Dragonking (talkcontribs) 21:53, February 6, 2012 (UTC)

I don't have definitive proof, but I found something that would seem to imply that an "until the End Phase" effect doesn't apply for the duration of the End Phase. This is what I found. Notice the wording difference for Alector as opposed to something like Effect Veiler. It seems to imply that Veiler wouldn't negate a LS's milling effect because it says "until the End Phase". -- Summoned Skull 2: Electric Boogaloo 22:08, February 6, 2012 (UTC)

How do you know if an effect's targets are chosen upon resolution or otherwise? I just saw at this wiki's main page (july 27th, 2012) that tiaramisu's effect that shuffles opponent's cards back to the deck are chosen upon resolution, i cannot find anything/any rule that backs up this manner of choosing targets though and whenever i search about targeting, it says that targets are chosen upon activation. XD please help. thanks


--kentz 124.6.181.81 (talk) 13:17, August 24, 2012 (UTC)

"up to the number of cards returned"
You don't know how many cards are actually returned until the effect resolves. So you choose those on resolution. -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 13:27, August 24, 2012 (UTC)

Suggestion

Observation: It appears several of the recent questions on this forum section are ruling queries that can be easily explained by studying PSCT details.

Suggestion: The FAQ could help point those who read it to the PSCT page, or at least give some mild explanation to some phrases in PSCT so that readers can figure out their problems on the spot without the need of a query thread. It can also help with cards that do not have a rulings page. --Gadjiltron (talkcontribs) 11:06, May 16, 2013 (UTC)


Two questions

I'm fairly certain that these may end up being deleted, but I did say that I'd put them here. Sanokal K-T (talkcontribs) 01:38, January 8, 2017 (UTC)

Can Tyrant Burst Dragon attack directly after destroying one monster? ````

If I have Bubbleman on the field and activate Bubble Illusion, can I activate Mirror Gate from my hand?Vs05689y (talkcontribs) 01:03, January 8, 2017 (UTC)

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.