Japanese (base text)


Japanese (romanized)


Japanese (translated)




Excavate (めくる mekuru, lit. "flip" or "turn over") is a game term introduced in War of the Giants: Round 2 and featured prominently on "Sylvan" monsters in Legacy of the Valiant.

When a card says to "excavate" cards from your Deck, you reveal those cards to both players. Cards that are being excavated are still treated as being in the Deck until sent elsewhere by the card instructions. "Excavate" and "reveal" are not always the same thing. Some cards will "reveal" cards but not "excavate" them. Unless a card specifically refers to "excavating", then it doesn’t excavate.[1]

Cards that excavate

All OCG/TCG "Excavates" cards

 Japanese namePrimary typeSecondary typeAttributeTypeLevel/ RankATKDEF
Mental SeekerメンタルシーカーEffect MonsterTuner monsterEARTHPsychic3800600
 Japanese nameCard typeProperty
Conscription徴兵令Trap Card
Normal Trap Card
Normal Trap Card
Peeking Goblin盗み見ゴブリンSpell Card
Normal Spell Card
Normal Spell Card

All Anime "Excavates" cards

 Japanese nameCard typeProperty
Future Vision来世のヴィジョンSpell CardNormal Spell Card

All Manga "Excavates" cards

External links


  1. Tewart, Kevin. "New Rulebook Online & Guide to Changes".
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.