FANDOM


  • In all International versions of this card, "Spellbinding Circle" appears in their artworks. In the Japanese versions, a pentagram star is depicted instead.
  • This is the only card that can allow a victory before either player has a turn, assuming you’re lucky enough to draw all 5 pieces in your opening hand.
    • This is the only card whose effect text contained either of the words "victory" or "automatic". The phrase has since been changed, along with all other victory condition cards, to "You win the Duel" instead of "automatic victory".
    • In Yu-Gi-Oh! The Duelists of the Roses, this card had to be on the field to in order to win.
  • In terms of probability, the odds of drawing all 5 pieces in your opening hand in a standard 40 card deck is a low rate of 0.0000152%, which means it’ll only happen 1 and 1/2 times per 1 million games. You’re more likely to be struck by lightning, while drowning in the Atlantic Ocean.
    • Though it’s highly unlikely (if not impossible), there is a special ruling in place for the one in a million chance that both players draw the 5 pieces in their opening hand. The person declared the winner would be the turn player (whoever went first), and it wouldn’t be a tie as one would expect.
  • In the English Dub, this card is nicknamed the "Exodia Head", since this card's artwork is mostly a close-up of Exodia's head. In the anime, this card's non-card form is only Exodia's head.
  • Exodia's dismemberment appears to be a reference to the Egyptian god Osiris: who was sealed away and dismembered by the god Set. Osiris is the god of death and judgement.
  • Due to the 5 cards only featuring the head and 4 limbs, the full body cannot be seen within those cards.
  • This card, along with its limbs, have kept the same status on the Forbidden & Limited Lists longer than any other card in the game. They have all been Limited since the lists were started.
  • This is the first card set that can only be used to its full effect if a set of cards is gathered in a player's hand.
  • The Master Collection Volume 1 release of this card had a typo that missed the "r" letter in "your", which led the text to need all 5 pieces to be in "you hand".
  • In Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Generation, when this card's victory condition is achieved, the winning player will declare either "Exodia Finale" or "Face the Unstoppable!"
  • "Exodia" may be a blend of "exo-" (“outside”) +‎ "dia" in Latin means "deity".
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+