FANDOM


Destroyed by an Spell Card Whats happends if I have activated Spell Absorbtion on my field and my opponent uses De-Spell or Mystical Space Typhoon to destroy my Spell Absortion?? I will still gain the 500 points by the activation?? —This unsigned comment was made by 190.53.204.180 (talkcontribs) 23:00, 23 July 2009

In the TCG, you will. "Spell Absorption" increases your LP immediately after the Spell Card is activated. So, your opponent activates "De-Spell", then you gain LP, and then "De-Spell" destroys "Spell Absorption".
In the OCG, you won't. "Spell Absorption" increases your Life Points immediately after the Spell Card resolves. So "De-Spell" resolves and destroys "Spell Absorption", and then "Spell Absorption" tries to increase your LP - but, it is no longer face-up on the field, so you cannot apply its effect.
It's usually better to ask questions on the Forum, since more people visit there. Also, remember to sign your posts with four tildes ~~~~, since that automatically creates a signature for you.
--Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 16:57, 25 July 2009 (UTC)

Updated Text

The new text of the card clarifies that the lp gain is done immediately after the effect resolves, shouldn't that mean that the rulings mentioned are outdated and must be erased? Perzeus00 20:49, September 1, 2009 (UTC)

Agreed. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 23:06, September 2, 2009 (UTC)

Two spell absorptions?

Can I chain the effects of two spell absorptions to eachother to get max life points? —This unsigned comment was made by 70.32.195.18 (talkcontribs) 22:10, February 1, 2010

No. "Spell Absorption" only recovers LP when a Spell Card is activated - that is, when a Spell Card is played from your hand, or when a face-down Spell Card is flipped face-up. It does not recover LP when the effect of a Spell Card is applied.
It's usually better to ask questions on the Forum, since it's specifically set up so that people can answer your questions. Also, remember to sign your posts with four tildes ~~~~, since that automatically creates a signature for you.
--Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 03:04, February 2, 2010 (UTC)

Archfiend of Gilfer and Spell absorption

Does Archfiend of Gilfer's effect count as activating a spell card? Ex. I activate Archfiend of Gifler's effect and gain 500 life points for SPELL ABSORPTION.

Androiddab 21:45, June 3, 2010 (UTC)Androiddab

No. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 06:25, June 4, 2010 (UTC)
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+