This is the talk page for discussing the page, Card Rulings:Prohibition.

Please try to

  • Be polite
  • Assume good faith
  • Be welcoming

If "Mystic Tomato" is declared with "Prohibition" while a "Mystic Tomato" is on the field, when the "Mystic Tomato" is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard its effect activates. If it Special Summons another "Mystic Tomato", the Special Summoned "Mystic Tomato" "cannot be used", so its effects will not be applied and its battle position cannot be chained [sic].

I believe the last word is in that paragraph is 'changed' instead of 'chained'.

Aiwotorimodose (talkcontribs) 05:44, August 18, 2012 (UTC)

Did you read what the [Sic] link was referring to?
-Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 05:50, August 18, 2012 (UTC)

What you CAN and CANNOT do with the declared card:

Ok, "Prohibition" and "Psi-Blocker" both use the vague "Cannot be used" / "Cannot play". Here is a list I collected regarding this term and I want to have some feedback if everything stated is correct:

Things you CANNOT do with the declared card:

Monster Cards:

● A declared Monster cannot be Normal Summoned or Set from the hand.

● A declared Monster Card cannot be activated from the hand, Graveyard or Deck. (Some examples: "Effect Veiler'", "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness", "Necro Gardna", "Mezuki", etcetera.)

● A declared Monster cannot attack.

● A declared Monster cannot change its Battle Position, except with the effect of another card.

● A declared Fusion/Ritual/Sychro/Xyz Monster cannot be Fusion/Ritual/Synchro/Xyz Summoned.

● A declared Monster cannot be used as a Fusion/Synchro/Xyz Material. (Note: You can still use the declared Monster as a Fusion Material with the effect of "Future Fusion".)

● A declared Pendulum Monster cannot be Summoned, activated to the Pendulum Zone, or activate either of its effects while on the field.

● A declared Monster with a Continuous or Trigger effect isn't applied. (Some examples: "Jinzo", "Sangan", etcetera.)

Spell/Trap Cards:

● A declared Spell/Trap Card cannot be activated or Set from the hand.

● A declared Spell/Trap Card already on the field isn't applied anymore and cannot activate their effects. (Some examples: "Royal Decree", "Swords of Revealing Light", "Soul Absorption", etcetera.)

● A declared Trap Monster Card will go back to the Spell/Trap Card Zone and stay there unused. (Note: This also happens with Trap Monster Cards when "Royal Decree" or "Jinzo" is on the field.)

● A declared Monster cannot be Special Summoned with another card's effect. (Some examples: "Monster Reborn", "Mystic Tomato", etcetera.)

Things you CAN do with the declared card:

Monster Cards:

● A declared Monster can still switch control with the effect of another card. (Some examples: "Mind Control", "Creature Swap", etcetera.)

● A declared Monster can still be equipped with a Equip Spell Card or Union Monster.

● A declared Monster can still gain benefit from Field Spell Cards and is still affected by effects that increases or decreases ATK and/or DEF.

● A declared Monster can still be used as a Tribute for a Tribute Summon/Set or a Ritual Summon.

● A declared Monster which was already present on the field can still act as a defense for attacking Monsters.

Other Cards:

● A declared card can still be searched for. (Some examples: "Sangan", "E - Emergency Call", etcetera.)

● A declared card can still be Tribute as a cost for another card effect. (Some examples: "Spiritual Light Art - Hijiri", "Cannon Soldier", "Lava Golem", etcetera.)

● When a card like "Wind-Up Rabbit" is banished by its own effect and after that is declared, the banished "Wind-Up Rabbit" still returns to the field.

● When a card like "Gold Sarcophagus" is activated and a card is banished, and after that "Gold Sarcophagus" is declared, the banished card still goes to the hand during the second Standby Phase. Similarly, you will still win after "Final Countdown" is already activated and resolved, even when "Final Countdown" is declared later on.

● All maintenance costs of the declared card must still be paid to keep it active. (Some examples: "Fairy Box", "Messenger of Peace", "Degenerate Circuit", etcetera.)

● The declared card can still be revealed, excavated, or send to the Graveyard. (Some examples: "Spiritual Light Art - Hijiri", "Pot of Duality", "Card Destruction", etcetera.)

● Contractual Effects still apply if the declared card is already activated and resolved. (Some examples: "Pot of Duality", etcetera.)

● The Duel Winner "Exodia" still applies, since the description of "Exodia the Forbidden One" isn't an effect, but a Win Condition instead.

Some things to note:

● The effects of the declared cards aren't considered as negated, they just aren't applied.

● Tokens (or Tokens with special names) cannot be declared. (Some examples: "Cobra Jar", "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness", etcetera.)

● You don't have to declare the FULL and EXACT card name; naming a precise description, card's stats, appearance, effects, etcetera, are considered acceptable as long as both players are in clear agreement over which card is being described. An example where you need to describe something more than just declaring the card name is with the cards "Rai-Mei" (Effect Monster) and "Raimei" (Normal Spell Card).

● If "Psi-Blocker" is not face-up anymore after its effect resolved, or if "Psi-Blocker" is removed from the field after its effect resolved, you still cannot use the declared card that turn.

● "Psi-Blocker" cannot declare "Psi-Blocker" as a valid card name, since that would intentionally create an infinite loop. (Note: "Prohibition" can declare "Prohibition" though, since it was on the field already when the effect activates and resolved, so the negation of "Prohibition" isn't applied.)

● Cards that are always treated as other cards cannot be declared. (For example: "A Legendary Ocean" is always treated as "Umi", so "A Legendary Ocean" cannot be declared. "Umi" can be declared however, and will also make "A Legendary Ocean" become unplayable.)

● When a card is always treated as two names at the same time, either can be declared to make it unusable. (For example: "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" is also treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", so it doesn't matter if you declare "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" or "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", in either case "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" cannot be used.)

Quuador (talkcontribs) 12:35, November 9, 2014 (UTC)

*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+