TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • Paying 500 Life Points is a cost to activate this card's effect.[1]
  • If activated during the Battle Step, it causes a replay. It is not necessary for your opponent to attack the newly Summoned/Set monster (but he may, if he wishes).[2]
  • You can neither activate (flip face-up) nor activate the effect of this card in the Damage Step.[3]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • If a monster like "Panther Warrior" or "Dark Elf" or "Jirai Gumo" or "Insect Queen" attacks and a replay occurs because, for example, your opponent activated the effect of "Ultimate Offering", then you do not need to pay Life Points or Tribute another monster to select a new attack target. Also, if you choose to cancel the attack, then the paid Life Points and the Tributed monster are not refunded.[8]

Previously Official Rulings

  • If Ultimate Offering is face-up, you can activate its effect multiple times in the same chain.
  • If your opponent activates a Trap Card, you can chain the effect of your face-up Ultimate Offering to the Trap Card to Tribute Summon Jinzo (if you had a monster on the field to Tribute) and negate the Trap Card's effect.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Bottomless Trap Hole: Only the monster(s) that triggered "Bottomless Trap Hole" by being Normal / Flip / Special Summoned can be destroyed & removed from play by "Bottomless Trap Hole's" effect. Example: Player A Normal Summons "Dark Blade", and Player B activates "Bottomless Trap Hole" in response (Chain Link 1), then Player A chains the effect of his face-up "Ultimate Offering" to Tribute "Dark Blade" for "Summoned Skull" (Chain Link 2). "Ultimate Offering's" effect resolves first, and "Dark Blade" is Tributed for "Summoned Skull". Then the effect of "Bottomless Trap Hole" disappears because the monster it would have applied to is no longer on the field.
  • Dora of Fate: If you Summon multiple times with "Ultimate Offering", "Dora of Fate" only applies to the first Summon.
  • Double Summon: You can activate multiple copies of this card in the same turn, but you can only gain 1 extra Summon per turn from this card. You can gain additional Normal Summons from other cards like "Ultimate Offering", etc.
  • Trap Hole: You can activate "Trap Hole" both during you and your opponent's turn when your opponent use "Ultimate Offering" and Summons a monster because it is considered a Normal Summon.[21][Q&A]
  • Winged Rhynos: This effect cannot be chained to the activation of the effect of an already face-up Continuous Trap Card, like "Ultimate Offering". It can only be chained when a Trap Card itself is activated (ie., flipped face-up).


Out of Date

  1. 1.0 1.1 This card's latest errata states that the Summon occurs immediately after the resolution of its effect.


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Ultimate Offering
  2. Konami FAQ: [Replay] When "Ultimate Offering" causes a replay, does the opponent's monster have to attack the new monster?
  3. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can "Ultimate Offering" be activated in the Damage Step?
  4. Konami FAQ: [Chain] When "Ultimate Offering" is activated, and "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained and destroys "Ultimate Offering", does "Ultimate Offering" resolve?
  5. Konami FAQ: [Chain] When "Ultimate Offering" is activate at Chain Link 2+, can "Cloning" etc be used?
  6. Konami FAQ [Replay] Can you activate "Ultimate Offering" during your opponent's turn?
  7. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate "Solemn Judgment" when Normal Summoning through the effect of "Ultimate Offering"?
  8. Konami FAQ: [Replay] What happens when "Ultimate Offering" is activated when a monster like "Panther Warrior" or "Jirai Gumo" attacks?
  9. Konami FAQ: [Chain] When "Ultimate Offering" is used during a chain, can you activate "Marauding Captain"'s effect?
  10. Konami FAQ: [Chain] Does the effect of "Senju of the Thousand Hands" activate when it is Summoned in the middle of resolving a chain?
  11. 11.0 11.1 Konami FAQ: [Basic Rules] When activating a Trap Card, does that Trap Card remain on the field?
  12. Konami FAQ: When "Ancient Gear Golem" attacks can you activate the effect of an "Ultimate Offering" which is already face-up on the field?
  13. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Is it possible to activate "Call of the Haunted" during the Damage Step?
  14. Konami FAQ: When "Cold Wave" is activated, can the effects of "Ultimate Offering" or "Card of Safe Return" be activated?
  15. Konami FAQ: Spell Card > Hidden Armory
  16. Konami FAQ: Does the effect of "Sangan" activate if it was destroyed when resolving Chain Link 2 and "Obelisk the Tormentor" was Summoned at Chain Link 1?
  17. Konami FAQ: When "Obelisk the Tormentor" is Normal Summoned by "Ultimate Offering" in the middle of a Chain, will the effect of a Tributed "Sangan" activate?
  18. Konami FAQ: If the opponent Normal Summons or Set during your turn by "Ultimate Offering" etc, then can the effect of "Red-Eyes Wyvern" be activated during the End Phase?
  19. Konami FAQ: When you Summon a monster during your opponent's turn, can you Special Summon "Turbo Booster" from your hand?
  20. Konami FAQ: When "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch" is Tribute Summoned in the middle of a Chain by "Ultimate Offering", do you resolve its effect?
  21. 21.0 21.1 21.2 UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS
  22. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  28. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  29. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  30. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+