Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Big Shield Gardna: A face-down "Big Shield Gardna" can only negate a Spell Card that targets 1 face-down monster, so it...could negate..."Tribute to the Doomed".
  • Double Spell: The player who activates "Double Spell" pays any costs for the selected Spell Card (for "Delinquent Duo", "Tribute to the Doomed", etc.).
  • Dramatic Rescue: You can activate "Dramatic Rescue" when an Amazoness on your side of the field is targeted, such as with any Equip Spell Card, "Tribute to the Doomed"...
  • Giant Kozaky: If "Giant Kozaky" is destroyed while face-down, then its effect that inflicts damage is not activated. If "Giant Kozaky" is face-up on the field and is targeted by "Tribute to the Doomed", and you chain "Book of Moon" so that "Giant Kozaky" is face-down when destroyed by "Tribute to the Doomed", there is no damage.
  • Gravekeeper's Watcher: You cannot activate "Gravekeeper's Watcher" when a card is discarded as a cost, such as..."Tribute to the Doomed"...
  • Magical Thorn: The effect of "Magical Thorn" is applied when the opponent discards during the End Phase to make their hand size 6, discarding for the cost of cards such as "Tribute to the Doomed"...
  • My Body as a Shield: "My Body as a Shield" will negate cards such as..."Tribute to the Doomed"...
  • Spirit Reaper: "Spirit Reaper" is destroyed by its own effect after a card that targets it resolves. If a Spell Card targets it, and the activation of that Spell Card is negated (such as with "Magic Jammer"), then "Spirit Reaper" is not destroyed. However, if the effect of the Spell Card was negated, such as if "Imperial Order" is active, then "Spirit Reaper" is destroyed because the Spell Card resolves (even though its effect is negated). Even if "Imperial Order" is already active on the field, you can activate a card such as "Tribute to the Doomed" designating "Spirit Reaper", and "Spirit Reaper" will be destroyed by its own effect.

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Spell Absorption: The effect of "Spell Absorption" is applied when the Spell Card is activated. You cannot chain to this effect. The effect is applied immediately. For example, when activating "Tribute to the Doomed" while "Spell Absorption" is on the field: (1) pay the cost by discarding a card, (2) activate "Tribute to the Doomed", (3) your Life Points increase for "Spell Absorption", (4) check for chaining and resolve "Tribute to the Doomed".[Notes 1]


  1. The newest errata of "Spell Absorption" implies that its effect is applied after the resolution of the Spell Card. This makes this Ruling invalid.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  2. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  3. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.