Yu-Gi-Oh! Wiki
Yu-Gi-Oh! Wiki

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

OCG Rulings

On Timing

  • ZERO-MAX: The effect of "ZERO-MAX" which Special Summons an "Infernity" monster and the effect which destroys all face-up monsters are not treated as resolving at the same time. Even if there are no monsters on the field, then it is treated as finishing resolving with the destruction of monsters. Thus, even if "ZERO-MAX" does not destroy monsters, then you cannot activate cards like "Torrential Tribute" because you miss the timing.[9]


Versus Specific Cards

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Junk Collector: If "Junk Collector" is the only monster on the field, then you cannot remove from play "Ceasefire" to activate its effect; if you did, then there would be no monsters on the field after activation, so the damage-inflicting effect cannot be applied. Likewise, if "Junk Collector" is Summoned and is the only monster on the field, then you cannot remove from play "Torrential Tribute" to activate its effect; if you did, then there would be no monsters on the field after activation, so the effect which destroys monsters cannot be applied.[16]

Previously Official Rulings

  • "Torrential Tribute" can be activated after a Flip Summon, but it does not negate the Flip Effect (it is chained to the Flip Effect).

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Forced Back: You can activate "Forced Back" when you Normal or Flip Summon your own monster. You should announce this immediately after your Summon. Once you allow your opponent to activate "Torrential Tribute" you are acknowledging that the Summon was successful and you cannot activate "Forced Back".
  • Gemini monster: When you have a Gemini monster already face-up on the field, you may use your Normal Summon to turn on the effect of the Gemini monster, making it an Effect Monster on the field. This is treated the same as any other Normal Summon, so cards that may be activated in response to a Normal Summon may be activated now, such as “Torrential Tribute” ...
  • Greenkappa: You can chain to the effect of "Greenkappa", even with the targeted Spell or Trap Cards. If only 1 of the 2 cards is chained, "Greenkappa" will still resolve and destroy the other. If "Greenkappa" is destroyed in a chain to its effect (such as with "Torrential Tribute") its effect still resolves.
  • Magical Dimension: If your opponent activates "Magical Dimension" and chooses not to destroy a monster on the field, then you can activate "Torrential Tribute"...to destroy the Special Summoned Spellcaster. If your opponent does decide to destroy a monster, then you cannot activate these cards because the last thing to happen was not a monster being Summoned. So you have missed the timing.
  • Skull Knight #2: If the opponent chains "Torrential Tribute" to the effect of "Skull Knight #2", all monsters will be destroyed (including the Level 5 or higher Fiend-Type monster that was Tribute Summoned) and then "Skull Knight #2" will be Special Summoned from your Deck. If the opponent waits until the effect of "Skull Knight #2" resolves and another copy is Special Summoned, and then activates "Torrential Tribute" in response to that Summon, all the monsters will be destroyed.
  • The Dragon's Bead: You can only activate the effect of this card to negate a Trap Card that targets a face-up Dragon-Type monster, so it cannot negate..."Torrential Tribute"...

Judge List Rulings

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings


  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 This is no longer correct due to the removal of Ignition Effect priority.
  3. The latest errata of "D.D. Survivor" states that it can only activate its effect during the turn it was banished, making this ruling invalid.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: Torrential Tribute vs Reborn Tengu vs D.D. Warrior Lady
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Gravekeeper's Spy Vs Torrential Tribute
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: Scrap Dragon taken by oponnent and destroyed by his card
  4. 4.0 4.1 Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Torrential Tribute
  5. Konami FAQ: Can effects like "Torrential Tribute" be activated when "Battle Fader" is Special Summoned?
  6. Konami FAQ: When "Ido the Supreme Magical Force" is Special Summoned and destroys monsters, can you activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" without missing the timing?
  7. Konami OCG FAQ: [Replay] Can something like "Torrential Tribute" be activated if "Relieve Monster" Special Summon a monster?
  8. Konami FAQ: Can cards like "Torrential Tribute" be activated when "Stardust Dragon" is Special Summoned by "Starlight Road"?
  9. Konami FAQ: Are the "draw" and "destroy" effects of "ZERO-MAX" treated as being done at the same time?
  10. Konami FAQ: When a monster which was removed from play by "Future Visions" or "Interdimensional Matter Transporter" returns to the field, is it treated as a Special Summon?
  11. Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Morphtronic Forcefield
  12. Konami FAQ: Can "Morphtronic Forcefield" be Chained to a card which does not target?
  13. Konami FAQ: [Replay] Can "Torrential Tribute" be activated when "Relieve Monster" Special Summons a monster?
  14. Konami FAQ: Can "Stardust Dragon"'s effect be activated multiple times during the same End Phase?
  15. Konami FAQ: When "The Wicked Avatar" is Summoned, can "Bottomless Trap Hole" or "Torrential Tribute" be activated?
  16. Konami FAQ: Can cards like "Ceasefire" or "Torrential Tribute" be removed from play to activate the effect of "Junk Collector"?
  17. Konami OCG FAQ: How do you resolve the effects when "Mira the Star-Bearer" and a Level 4 or lower monster would be destroyed simultaneously?
  18. UDE Judge List: Clarification on Zombie Master-effect negated?
  19. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]