TCG Rulings

  • You can only Chain this card directly to the effect that would destroy 2 or more cards you control.[1]
  • You cannot activate “Starlight Road” if your opponent activates “Crush Card Virus” while your only monsters are two facedown monsters with 1500 or more ATK.[1]
  • Negating and destroying a card and Special Summoning “Stardust Dragon” do not happen at the same time. First you negate and destroy the card, then you Special Summon “Stardust Dragon.” If you don’t Special Summon, the effect of “Starlight Road” ends after negating and destroying the card.[1]

Judge Program Forum Rulings

  • You can only activate Starlight Road if the effect that is activated will destroy 2 or more cards you control (per the card text). Even though Dark Hole has the potential to destroy up to 5 cards you control, if it is only destroying 1, you cannot activate Starlight Road.[2]

Out of Date

OCG Rulings

On the Activation Conditions

On Summoning "Stardust Dragon"

  • The effect of "Starlight Road" which negates and destroys does not resolve at the same time as the effect which Special Summons "Stardust Dragon". "Stardust Dragon" is Special Summoned after the card is destroyed and its effect is negated. If "Stardust Dragon" cannot be Special Summoned, then the effect finishes resolving with negating the effect and destroying the card.[14]



  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.
  2. In the OCG, "Lightsworn" is 「ライトロード」 ("Raitorōdo"; "Lightlord"). This card's OCG name is 「スターライト・ロード」 ("Sutāraito Rōdo"), which may cause confusion.

Out of Date

  1. The newest errata of "Starlight Road" makes it clear that "Starlight Road" does not negate the activation of the card or effect it was Chained to, which makes this ruling invalid.


  1. 1.00 1.01 1.02 1.03 1.04 1.05 1.06 1.07 1.08 1.09 1.10 1.11 Konami Gameplay FAQ: Duelist Pack Collection Tin 2010 – Card Rulings (Version 1.0)
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: starlight road v heavy/torrential/dark hole+
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: Call of the Haunted and Starlight Road
  4. Konami Judge Program Forum: Starlight Road and Bottomless Trap Hole
  5. 5.0 5.1 Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Starlight Road
  6. 6.0 6.1 Konami FAQ: Is "Starlight Road" activated directly in Chain to an effect which destroys?
  7. Konami FAQ: Can "Starlight Road" be activated if "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6" would be destroyed by the effect of a Spell Card?
  8. 8.0 8.1 Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can "Starlight Road" be activated in the Damage Step?
  9. Konami FAQ: Can you activate "Starlight Road" while "Vanity's Fiend" is preventing you from Special Summoning?
  10. Konami FAQ: If "Bottomless Trap Hole" is activated when multiple monsters are Special Summoned, then can "Starlight Road" be Chained?
  11. 11.0 11.1 Konami FAQ: Can "Starlight Road" be Chained to an effect like "Time Wizard" or "Deck Devastation Virus" whose destruction is not definite?
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 12.3 Konami FAQ: Can "Starlight Road" be Chained to effects like that of "Elemental Hero Stratos" or "R - Righteous Justice"?
  13. Konami FAQ: Can the "Stardust Dragon" Special Summoned by the effect of "Starlight Road" be Special Summoned from the Graveyard?
  14. Konami FAQ: Are the "destroy" and "Special Summon" effects of "Starlight Road" treated as being done at the same time?
  15. Konami FAQ: Can cards like "Torrential Tribute" be activated when "Stardust Dragon" is Special Summoned by "Starlight Road"?
  16. Konami FAQ: Can "Starlight Road" negate the effect of "Elemental Hero Absolute Zero" and destroy it?
  17. Konami FAQ: If "Starlight Road" cannot destroy the effect that it negates, then can you Special Summon "Stardust Dragon"?
  18. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" battles with and banishes a Token or "Embodiment of Apophis", then do they return to the field at the end of the Battle Phase?
  19. Konami FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" be Chained to "Starlight Road"?
  20. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you Chain "Solemn Warning" to "Starlight Road"?
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+