|This card's OCG and TCG rulings contradict each other.
In the OCG, it does not start a Chain link.
- The activation of the card "Shattered Axe" can be performed at any time, except during the Damage Step.
- When the card "Shattered Axe" is activated, it targets 1 face-up monster in the Monster Zone. (This card keep targeting that monster.)
- The effect "During each of your Standby Phases: It loses 500 ATK." does not start a Chain Link. (It is applied once during each Standby Phase of the controller of "Shattered Axe".)
- The effect "When that target is destroyed, destroy this card." does not start a Chain Link. (It is also applied during the Damage Step.)
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.