TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • You cannot voluntarily send "Royal Decree" to the Graveyard for no reason. A card effect has to remove it from the field.[3]

Mentions in Other Rulings

On Not Negating Activations

Versus Costs/Conditions


In Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Destiny Board: If..."Royal Decree" is on the field, "Destiny Board's effect will be negated and you cannot place a Spirit Message on the field. Also if one of the Spirit Messages or "Destiny Board" is destroyed while..."Royal Decree" is on the field, the others will NOT be destroyed. If "Jinzo" is destroyed in the End Phase you may activate "Destiny Board"'s effect afterwards.
  • Double Snare: You can destroy ..."Royal Decree"...with this card's effect.
  • Nightmare Wheel: The effect of "Nightmare Wheel" will be negated by "Royal Decree", so you can attack or change the battle position of the monster. Also, if "Royal Decree" is active, and the monster is removed from the field, "Nightmare Wheel" remains on the field meaninglessly because its text that would destroy it is negated. If "Royal Decree" is later destroyed, the effects of "Nightmare Wheel" are not applied (such as the 500 damage) if there is no monster being targeted by "Nightmare Wheel".
  • Ninjitsu Art of Decoy: If "Ninjitsu Art of Decoy" is active, then "Royal Decree" is activated and negates "Ninjitsu Art of Decoy"'s effect, then "Royal Decree" is later destroyed, "Ninjitsu Art of Decoy"'s effect is not re-applied.
  • Pitch-Black Power Stone: You place the 3 Spell Counters on "Pitch-Black Power Stone" even if "Royal Decree" is active, so if your opponent chains "Royal Decree" to your "Pitch-Black Power Stone", or chains "Call of the Haunted" to Special Summon "Jinzo", you still get 3 Spell Counters on it.
  • Scapegoat: If you activate "Monster Reborn" and your opponent chains "Imperial Order" you can chain "Scapegoat" and "Royal Decree" but only "Scapegoat" will resolve since "Scapegoat" will prevent any Special Summons, and therefore "Monster Reborn" cannot resolve.
  • Spirit of the Pharaoh: If your opponent chains "Royal Decree" to the effect of "The First Sarcophagus", the effect of Special Summoning is negated and "The First Sarcophagus" is sent to the Graveyard because that is the cost.
  • Talisman of Spell Sealing: While "Royal Decree" and "Talisman of Spell Sealing" are both active, and "Sealmaster Meisei" is removed from the field, "Talisman of Spell Sealing" stays on the field, but if "Royal Decree"'s effect is no longer being applied, "Talisman of Spell Sealing" is destroyed.
  • Wall of Revealing Light: If "Wall of Revealing Light"'s effect is negated by "Royal Decree"...and then that card is destroyed, the effect of "Wall of Revealing Light" is re-applied.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: Royal Decree Vs. Mirror Force and MST
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Optional Summon vs Pot of Duality
  3. Konami FAQ: For "Royal Decree", "Toon World", and other Continuous cards, can you choose to send them to the Graveyard?
  4. 4.0 4.1 Konami FAQ: [Basic Rules] When activating a Trap Card, does that Trap Card remain on the field?
  5. Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Pyramid of Light
  6. Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Reinforce Truth
  7. Konami FAQ: Can you perform your Battle Phase when the activation of "Reinforce Truth" is negated by a card like "Magic Jammer"?
  8. Konami FAQ: While "Imperial Custom" is negated, can a second "Imperial Custom" be activated?
  9. Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Overdoom Line
  10. Konami FAQ: When the effect of "Seal of Wickedness" is negated, is its Maintenance Cost not paid and is it not destroyed?
  11. Konami FAQ: If the effect of "Royal Decree" is being applied, then is the effect of "Wild Tornado" which activates in the Graveyard negated?
  12. Konami FAQ: Is the effect of "Limiter Overload" negated when "Jinzo" or "Royal Decree" is on the field?
  13. Konami FAQ: [Chain] Can you activate two "Anti Rageki"s in one chain?
  14. Konami FAQ: If "Call of the Haunted" is negated by "Royal Decree", then is the monster destroyed?
  15. Konami FAQ: If "Forgotten Temple of the Deep" is negated, then is its card name treated as "Umi"?
  16. 16.0 16.1 Konami FAQ: If "Pitch-Black Power Stone" is negated by the effect of "Royal Decree", are Spell Counters placed?
  17. Konami FAQ: While the effect of "Wicked Rebirth" is negated, can the Special Summoned monster attack?
  18. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  19. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]

Cite error: <ref> tags exist for a group named "Notes", but no corresponding <references group="Notes"/> tag was found.
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+