TCG Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • This card can target any card on the field, regardless of what type of card it is (Spell/Trap/Monster) or whether it is face-down or face-up.[2]
  • In general, if you cannot apply the card's effect when activating a card, then you cannot activate it. Thus, if there are no cards on the field that can be destroyed, then you cannot activate "Mystical Space Typhoon" nor a Set "Raigeki Break". Also, when you activate "Mystical Space Typhoon", it cannot target itself.[3]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • If a Flip Effect Monster is face-down on the field and is destroyed by "Raigeki Break", then you cannot activate its Flip Effect.[4]
  • During the Damage Step, in general, you cannot activate Spell/Trap Cards other than Counter Trap Cards and ATK/DEF-increasing/decreasing effects. Thus, you cannot activate "Book of Moon" nor "Raigeki Break", but you can activate the Counter Trap "Divine Wrath" during the Damage Step.[5]
  • Inferno Reckless Summon: If cards like "Book of Moon" or "Raigeki Break" is Chained to "Inferno Reckless Summon" so that neither player has any face-up monsters at resolution, then neither player Special Summons monsters with the same name. If only your opponent has monsters, then your opponent still Special Summons monsters with the same name, even though you do not have any face-up monsters. If only you have monsters, then only you Special Summon monsters with the same name.[11]

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Ante: If either player chains "Raigeki Break" ... to "Ante" and then has no cards at resolution of "Ante"'s effect, "Ante"'s effect disappears.
  • D.D. Scout Plane: If "D.D. Scout Plane" is face-down on the field while "Banisher of the Light" is in play, and "D.D. Scout Plane" is destroyed by "Raigeki Break", it is removed from play and its effect activates because it is placed face-up out of play.
  • Ectoplasmer: You can chain "Mystical Space Typhoon" or "Raigeki Break" to "Ectoplasmer"'s effect, and if there is no "Ectoplasmer" on the field, then its effect is not applied.
  • Makyura the Destructor: You cannot activate a "Raigeki Break" in your hand by discard "Makyura the Destructor" as a cost.
  • Peten the Dark Clown: If "Peten the Dark Clown" is discarded as a cost for "Tribe-Infecting Virus" or "Raigeki Break", the last thing that happened was that those effects resolved, so the effect of "Peten" does not activate.


  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: TG1-EM1 exchange
  2. 2.0 2.1 Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Raigeki Break
  3. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate "Mystical Space Typhoon" while there's no card that can be destoyed?
  4. Konami OCG FAQ: When a face-down Flip Effect Monster is destroyed, do you activate its Flip Effect?
  5. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate Quick-Play Spell Cards, Counter Trap Cards, and so on during the Damage Step?
  6. Konami FAQ: If "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8" is not face-up on the field when resolving the effect, is the Spell Card negated?
  7. Konami FAQ: When "Clear Vice Dragon" would be destroyed, if control of it changes, then is it destroyed?
  8. Konami FAQ: If "Fabled Gallabas" is not face-up on the field at resolution, is the monster destroyed?
  9. 9.0 9.1 Konami OCG FAQ: Can the effect of "Formula Synchron" be activated multiple times in the same Chain?
  10. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate the effect of something like "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World" if it is discarded from the hand to the Graveyard as a cost?
  11. Konami OCG FAQ: If there are no longer any face-up monsters when resolving "Inferno Reckless Summon", then can you Special Summon monsters with the same name?
  12. Konami FAQ: Can "Sakuretsu Armor" and "Raigeki Break" be activated and targeting a "Koa'ki Meiru Valafar" which cannot be destroyed by Trap Cards?
  13. Konami FAQ: If "Moon Dragon Quilla" is destroyed in the middle of a resolution, then can the effect which Special Summons "Sun Dragon Inti" be activated?
  14. Konami FAQ: Does the effect of "Sangan" activate if it was destroyed when resolving Chain Link 2 and "Obelisk the Tormentor" was Summoned at Chain Link 1?
  15. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Power Breaker" be activated if it is destroyed while your opponent controls it?
  16. Konami FAQ: If a monster like "Scrap Dragon" is destroyed while face-down, then does its effect activate?
  17. Konami FAQ: Can "Solemn Warning" be Chained to a Spell or Trap Card which does not include Special Summoning?
  18. Konami FAQ: If you discard "The Fabled Catsith" in the middle of a Chain, then its effect activates at what time?
  19. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.