OCG Rulings

  • "Phantom of Chaos" always inflicts 0 Battle Damage to your opponent, regardless of whether or not you use its other effect to gain the effects of another monster.[1]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

Judge List Rulings

  • If you use "Phantom of Chaos'" effect to copy the name, ATK, and effect(s) of a DARK monster and afterwards "Skill Drain" is activated, the copied effect(s) are negated, but the copied name and ATK are not negated. If you activate "Phantom of Chaos'" effect and "Skill Drain" is chained, "Phantom of Chaos'" effect is negated when it resolves, so it does not gain the name, ATK, or effect(s) of the DARK monster.[14]


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Konami FAQ: Effect Monster > Phantom of Chaos
  2. Konami FAQ: Can "Armityle the Chaos Phantom" be Special Summoned by removing from play copies of "Phantom of Chaos" being treated as "Uria, Lord of Searing Flames" etc?
  3. Konami FAQ: When "Lightwave Tuning" is applied to "Phantom of Chaos" when it is treated as "Junk Synchron", can it be a Synchro Material Monster?
  4. Konami FAQ: Can "Elemental Hero Prisma" etc gain the name of a monster declared by "Prohibition"?
  5. Konami FAQ: While "Earthbound Immortal Ccapac Apu" is on the field, can the name of "Phantom of Chaos" be changed to "Earthbound Immortal Ccapac Apu" by its effect?
  6. Konami FAQ: If "Phantom of Chaos" obtains an effect which activates in the Graveyard or the place to where cards are removed from play, then can the effect be activated?
  7. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of monsters like "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" copy the text of monsters like "Debris Dragon" which is not treated as an effect?
  8. Konami FAQ: Can "Majestic Star Dragon" obtain an effect by activating the effect of a negated "Phantom of Chaos"?
  9. Konami FAQ: Can you activate the effect of "Fairy Archer" multiple times if its name is changed?
  10. Konami FAQ: An effect like that of "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" is applied for how long during the End Phase?
  11. Konami FAQ: Can "Malefic Truth Dragon" be Special Summoned if a "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" whose card name is "Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon" is destroyed?
  12. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate "Miracle Synchro Fusion" if the name of "Phantom of Chaos" is "Naturia Barkion"?
  13. 13.0 13.1 Konami OCG FAQ: How long does the monster need to be a "Scrap" monster in order to Special Summon "Scrap Searcher"?
  14. UDE Judge List: Phantom of Chaos Vs. Skill Drain
  15. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  16. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  17. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  18. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  19. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.