OCG Rulings

  • "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set except by Tributing 3 monsters." is a Summoning Condition. It is not an effect.[1]

On Being Sent to the Graveyard

On Not Being Targeted

Egyptian God Rulings

OCG Rulings

On Effects Not Activating

On Summoning



  1. 1.0 1.1 Konami FAQ: Effect Monster > Obelisk the Tormentor
  2. 2.0 2.1 Konami FAQ: For "Obelisk the Tormentor", is Tributing two monsters a cost to destroy all the opponent's monsters?
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Konami FAQ: When "Obelisk the Tormentor" is Special Summoned, do you activate the effect which sends it to the Graveyard if it is face-down during the End Phase?
  4. Konami FAQ: Is "Obelisk the Tormentor" sent to the Graveyard during a turn in which it is Special Summoned and "Skill Drain" is activated?
  5. Konami FAQ: Can a face-up "Obelisk the Tormentor" be destroyed by effects that do not target like "Lightning Vortex"?
  6. Konami FAQ: When "Obelisk the Tormentor" is Normal Summoned and "Sangan" is Tributed and sent from the field to the Graveyard, will the effect of "Sangan" be activated?
  7. Konami FAQ: What can the Turn Player do when "Obelisk the Tormentor" is successfully Tribute Summoned?
  8. Konami FAQ: When "Obelisk the Tormentor" is Normal Summoned by "Ultimate Offering" in the middle of a Chain, will the effect of a Tributed "Sangan" activate?
  9. Konami FAQ: Does the effect of "Sangan" activate if it was destroyed when resolving Chain Link 2 and "Obelisk the Tormentor" was Summoned at Chain Link 1?
  10. Konami FAQ: When Normal Summoning "Obelisk the Tormentor", can you Set it in face-down Defense Position?
  11. Konami FAQ: For the effect of "DNA Surgery", can "Divine-Beast" be declared as a monster's Type?
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.