OCG Rulings

  • You declare the type of card (Monster/Spell/Trap) when activating the effect.[1]
  • If you declare "Spell Card" or "Trap Card", then players can still activate the effect of Continuous Spell/Trap Cards that are already face-up on the field.[4]


  1. 1.0 1.1 Konami OCG FAQ: Xyz Monster > Number 16: Shock Master
  2. Konami OCG FAQ: If Monster Cards are declared for the effect of "Number 16: Shock Master", then do things like Normal Summons become impossible?
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Konami OCG FAQ: While applying the effect of "Number 16: Shock Master", can you activate effects which activate outside of the field?
  4. Konami OCG FAQ: If you declare Spell/Trap Cards for "Number 16: Shock Master", then can you activate the effect of things like Continuous Trap Cards?
  5. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Number 16: Shock Master" is not on the field when or after applying its effect, then can cards of the declared type be activated?
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.