TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

  • The turn player cannot Set more than 1 Spell/Trap Card at the same time. He/she will have to Set them one at a time, and each time, the opponent will have the opportunity to respond. After setting a Spell/Trap Card, both players will have the opportunity to respond to the action. Player B will have the opportunity to activate his "Mystical Space Typhoon" before the turn player is able to perform another action.[1]

Out of Date

OCG Rulings

  • Unlike Counter Trap Cards, when "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to another card, "Mystical Space Typhoon" does not need to target the card it is chained to.[6]
  • In general, if you cannot apply the card's effect when activating a card, then you cannot activate it. Thus, if there are no cards on the field that can be destroyed, then you cannot activate "Mystical Space Typhoon" nor a Set "Raigeki Break". Also, when you activate "Mystical Space Typhoon", it cannot target itself.[8]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Ancient Forest: The effect, "When this card is activated, if there are any Defense Position monsters on the field, then those monsters are changed to face-up Attack Position." of "Ancient Forest" is not applied at activation - it is applied when resolving the effect, after the opponent has had the chance to chain to the effect. If "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to the activation of "Ancient Forest", then "Ancient Forest" is not face-up on the field when its effect is resolving as Chain Link 1, so the monsters are not changed to face-up Attack Position.[10]

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Archlord Zerato / Mazera DeVille: If you chain "Mystical Space Typhoon" to "Archlord Zerato"'s effect and destroy "The Sanctuary in the Sky", "Archlord Zerato"'s effect disappears because "Archlord Zerato"'s effect needs "The Sanctuary in the Sky" on the field when the effect resolves, not just when it activates (just like "The Agent of Judgment - Saturn").
  • Bad Reaction to Simochi: If the opponent activates "Dian Keto the Cure Master", you can chain this card and the opponent will take 1000 points of damage instead of gaining Life Points. If the opponent chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" to your "Bad Reaction to Simochi", they will gain the 1000 Life Points.
  • Bait Doll: If the target of "Bait Doll" is no longer on the field (if it was...destroyed by "Mystical Space Typhoon", as a chain to the activation of "Bait Doll"), then "Bait Doll" is still shuffled back into the Deck. As long as the activation and effect of "Bait Doll" are not negated, the effect of "Bait Doll" that shuffles it back into the Deck still resolves.
  • Big Bang Shot: The effect of "Big Bang Shot" that removes the equipped monster from play can be resolved between steps of a chain. For example, if "Change of Heart" targets a monster equipped with "Big Bang Shot", and "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to "Change of Heart" to destroy "Big Bang Shot", first resolve "Mystical Space Typhoon" and destroy "Big Bang Shot", then remove the monster that was equipped from play, and THEN resolve "Change of Heart" (and the effect of "Change of Heart" disappears).
  • Butterfly Dagger - Elma: Missing the Timing: Because the effect of "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" is an optional " can" Trigger Effect, "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" being sent to the Graveyard has to be the very last thing that happened in order for you to activate its effect. So if it is destroyed in the middle of a chain, you cannot return it to your hand. Example: If the turn player activates "Pot of Greed", and the opponent chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" to destroy "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" during the chain, it cannot return to the owner's hand.
  • Butterfly Dagger - Elma: When you activate "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" and your opponent chains "Mystical Space Typhoon", it cannot return to your hand.
  • Cocoon of Evolution: If "Cocoon of Evolution" is Summoned or Set it is treated as a monster, if played as an Equip Spell Card it is treated as an Equip Spell Card as long as it remains on the field and could be destroyed with "Mystical Space Typhoon". Once on the field it cannot be switched from monster to Spell Card or vice versa...
  • Curse of Darkness: Even if your opponent targets your face-up "Curse of Darkness" with "Mystical Space Typhoon", he/she takes 1000 damage before "Mystical Space Typhoon" resolves and destroys "Curse of Darkness".
  • Curse of Royal: You can use Curse of Royal against cards like..."Mystical Space Typhoon"...
  • Ectoplasmer: You can chain "Mystical Space Typhoon" "Ectoplasmer"'s effect, and if there is no "Ectoplasmer" on the field, then its effect is not applied.
  • Fiend's Hand Mirror: Since "Mystical Space Typhoon" cannot destroy itself, when you chain "Fiend's Hand Mirror" to your opponent's "Mystical Space Typhoon", you cannot re-direct the "Mystical Space Typhoon" to target itself. But you can re-direct it to target and destroy "Fiend's Hand Mirror".
  • Fiend's Hand Mirror: When your opponent activates "Mystical Space Typhoon" to destroy his/her "Mirage of Nightmare", you can chain "Fiend's Hand Mirror" and have "Mystical Space Typhoon" destroy "Fiend's Hand Mirror" instead.
  • Fusion Sword Murasame Blade: If the opponent chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" to the activation of this card, this card is destroyed before its effect can be applied.
  • Gearfried the Swordmaster: The Equip Card must be successfully equipped to "Gearfried the Swordmaster" to activate his effect. For example, if "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to the activation of an Equip Card, it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard before resolving, so the effect of "Gearfried the Swordmaster" does not activate.
  • Giant Kozaky: If "Giant Kozaky" is equipped to "Relinquished" and is destroyed by "Mystical Space Typhoon" or the effect of "Relinquished", the effect of "Giant Kozaky" will inflict damage to the controller.
  • Gravekeeeper's Assailant: If "Necrovalley" is on the field, an attack is declared with "Gravekeeper's Assailant", and the effect of "Gravekeeper's Assailant" is activated, and "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to the effect to destroy "Necrovalley", the effect of "Gravekeeper's Assailant" is still applied because "Necrovalley" only had to be on the field to activate the effect.
  • Judgment of Anubis: You can activate "Judgment of Anubis" and select a Spell Card that destroys only a Spell Card...or only a Trap Card...or could destroy both (like "Mystical Space Typhoon")...
  • Light of Judgment: If your opponent chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" to "Light of Judgment" and destroys "The Sanctuary in the Sky", the effect of "Light of Judgment" is still applied.
  • Macro Cosmos: If "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to "Macro Cosmos's" activation to destroy it, then you will not Special Summon "Helios - The Primordial Sun". Because "Macro Cosmos" is a Continuous Trap Card, it needs to remain on the field to resolve.
  • Mirage of Nightmare: You may activate "Mystical Space Typhoon" during your Draw Phase to destroy "Mirage of Nightmare" before you have to discard during your Standby Phase. If your Draw Phase was skipped for some reason, you can still activate "Mystical Space Typhoon" to destroy "Mirage of Nightmare" before activating the effect of "Mirage of Nightmare" that will force you to discard. (You can activate any number of effects during your own Standby Phase in any order you wish, as long as required effects are dealt with by the time you leave the Standby Phase and enter your Main Phase 1.)
  • Pandemonium Watchbear: When your "Pandemonium" is going to be destroyed by "Mystical Space Typhoon", you can chain "Ceasefire" to flip your "Pandemonium Watchbear" face-up, and "Pandemonium" will not be destroyed.
  • Pitch-Black Power Stone: If you have 1 Spell Counter left on "Pitch-Black Power Stone", and your opponent activates "Mystical Space Typhoon", and you chain the transferring effect of "Pitch-Black Power Stone" (a Spell Speed 2 effect), first the transfer effect resolves and the Spell Counter is moved, then "Pitch-Black Power Stone" is immediately destroyed before "Mystical Space Typhoon" resolves.
  • Relinquished: You can not voluntarily destroy a monster equipped to "Relinquished" but you can use "Mystical Space Typhoon" eliminate it.
  • Royal Oppression: If the effect of "Royal Oppression" is activated, and "Mystical Space Typhoon" chained to destroy "Royal Oppression", then the effect of "Royal Oppression" disappears because it is a Continuous Trap Card, and the Special Summon will not be negated.
  • Royal Tribute: If you activate "Royal Tribute" and your opponent chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" to destroy "Necrovalley", the effect of "Royal Tribute" still resolves.
  • Secret Barrel: f you activate "Secret Barrel" and your opponent activates something as a chain, the chained card is included in the number (so if your opponent's only card on the field or in his hand is "Mystical Space Typhoon", and he chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" to "Secret Barrel", he still takes 200 damage).
  • Shooting Star Bow - Ceal: If a monster equipped with "Shooting Star Bow - Ceal" declares a direct attack, and "Shooting Star Bow - Ceal" is removed from the monster during the Battle Step with "Mystical Space Typhoon"...the monster is no longer capable of attacking directly and a replay occurs.
  • Smoke Grenade of the Thief: This card must be destroyed directly for its effect to activate, such as with the effects of "Mystical Space Typhoon"... Its effect does NOT activate if the monster it is equipped to is destroyed, Tributed, flipped face-down, or removed from the field.
  • Smoke Grenade of the Thief: If the opponent chains..."Mystical Space Typhoon" to the activation of "Smoke Grenade of the Thief", it is destroyed and its effect is NOT activated. This is because it is an Equip Spell Card, and must be on the field when it resolves for its effect to activate.
  • Swords of Concealing Light: Because "Swords of Concealing Light" is a Continuous Spell Card...if "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to its activation and destroys it, none of its effects will resolve (including the effect that changes your opponent's monsters to face-down Defense Position).
  • The Agent of Judgment - Saturn: If you chain "Mystical Space Typhoon" to "The Agent of Judgment - Saturn"'s effect and destroy "The Sanctuary in the Sky", "The Agent of Judgment - Saturn"'s effect disappears but it has already been Tributed so it is sent to the Graveyard.
  • The Agent of Wisdom - Mercury: When the effect of "The Agent of Wisdom - Mercury" is negated by "Skill Drain", and you have no hand at the end of your opponent's End Phase, and you destroy "Skill Drain" before your "Standby Phase" (such as with "Mystical Space Typhoon" during your Draw Phase), you CAN draw because "Skill Drain" was destroyed. This is because the "when you have no cards in your hand during your opponent's End Phase" is a condition, not an effect, so it is not negated by "Skill Drain". As long as you can make it so that "Skill Drain" is not negating "The Agent of Wisdom - Mercury"'s card-drawing effect by the time the Standby Phase begins, you can draw.
  • Tower of Babel: If "Mystical Space Typhoon" targets "Tower of Babel" with 3 Spell Counters, "Tower of Babel" is destroyed when "Mystical Space Typhoon" resolves, and never gets the 4th Spell Counter, so neither player takes damage.
  • Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce: When you declare the second attack of a monster equipped with "Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce", and the "Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce" is destroyed during the Battle Step with "Mystical Space Typhoon", the monster is no longer capable of performing the second attack, and a replay occurs.
  • Vampire Lord: When you have your "Vampire Lord" in play, Special Summoned by your "Premature Burial" or "Call of the Haunted", and your opponent destroys "Premature Burial" or "Call of the Haunted" with "Mystical Space Typhoon", the "Vampire Lord" won't be Special Summoned because it was destroyed by your card effect, not by your opponent's...
  • Wave-Motion Cannon: Sending "Wave-Motion Cannon" to the Graveyard is a cost, so when you send it to the Graveyard, it's too late for your opponent to chain "Mystical Space Typhoon" destroy "Wave-Motion Cannon", because "Wave-Motion Cannon" is already in the Graveyard.

Judge List Rulings

Out of Date


  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.

Out of Date

  1. 1.0 1.1 According to the new game mechanics for Field Spell Cards, now both players can have an active Field Spell Card on their field at the same time.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: priority?
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Royal Decree Vs. Mirror Force and MST
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: Call of the Haunted and Starlight Road
  4. Konami Judge Program Forum: Field Spell vs. Field Spell vs. MST
  5. Konami FAQ Is the effect of a card destroyed by "Mystical Space Typhoon" negated?
  6. Konami FAQ: [Chain] Can a card at Chain Link 4 target a card at Chain Link 1?
  7. Konami FAQ: When "Mystical Space Tyhpoon" is chained to "Dragon Capture Jar", are the Dragon-Type monsters shifted to Defense Position?
  8. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate "Mystical Space Typhoon" while there's no card that can be destoyed?
  9. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Book of Moon", if the targeted monster is not a Zombie, then can it be Special Summoned?
  10. Konami FAQ: At what time does the effect of "Ancient Forest" change the Battle Positions monsters to Attack Position?
  11. Konami FAQ: Can I destroy my equipped "Archfiend of Gilfer" when my opponent declares an attack to equip it to the attacking monster?
  12. Konami FAQ: When "Geartown" is activated and destroyed by a chained effect, can an "Ancient Gear" monster be Special Summoned?
  13. Konami FAQ: If the targeted card to be destroyed by "Lyla, Lightsworn Sorceress" is no longer on the field, then is "Lyla, Lightsworn Sorceress" switched to Defense Position?
  14. Konami FAQ: If your opponent activates a Field Spell Card while "Malefic Stardust Dragon" is on the field, then is your Field Spell Card destroyed?
  15. Konami FAQ: When the monster targeted by "Paladin of the Cursed Dragon" is not Zombie-Type when the effect resolves, is it still Special Summoned?
  16. Konami OCG FAQ: If the effect of "Stardust Dragon" cannot destroy the card, then can it Special Summon itself?
  17. Konami FAQ: If a card like "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to the activation of "Supervise" and destroys "Supervise", then can a Normal Monster still be Special Summoned?
  18. Konami FAQ: Synchro Monster > Vylon Epsilon
  19. Konami FAQ: If "Vylon Material" is destroyed by a Chained "Mystical Space Typhoon", then can you add a Spell Card to your hand?
  20. UDE Judge List: Field Spell Vs. Field Spell - What! MST!?
  21. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  28. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  29. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.