OCG Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

  • If there are fewer than 5 cards in the Deck of either player when this card's Flip Effect is activated, that player will lose the Duel, since the text of this card says "draw".

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Desert Sunlight: If you have a face-up Flip Effect monster, you can activate "Desert Sunlight", and chain "Book of Moon", another "Desert Sunlight", and another "Book of Moon". When the chain resolves, you will flip the monster down, then up, then down, then back up. The Flip Effect activates twice, and they wait to create a new chain after the current one resolves. For example, if the Flip Effect monster is "Morphing Jar", its effect will activate twice in a chain, as Chain Link 1 and Chain Link 2, they resolve in reverse order, and both players will discard and draw 5 cards, then discard and draw 5 cards again.
  • Magical Thorn: The effect of "Magical Thorn" inflicts damage after an effect resolves. So if the effect of "Morphing Jar" is activated, the damage will be dealt after the new cards are drawn. This means if your opponent has 100 Life Points, and you have "Magical Thorn" active on the field but only one card left in your Deck, you will lose the Duel before the effect of "Magical Thorn" can deal damage to reduce your opponent's Life Points to 0.


  1. Konami OCG FAQ: Who wins the Duel if both players complete "Exodia the Forbidden One" simultaneously?
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  3. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.