OCG Rulings

On Summoning

  • The effect which lets you Special Summon it from your hand is neither a Flip Effect nor a Continuous Effect nor an Ignition Effect nor a Trigger Effect nor a Quick Effect. Special Summoning it does not start a Chain Link.[1]
  • You can Special Summon this card by Tributing two Set monsters with 2000+ ATK.[1]

On Banishing Cards and Returning

  • The effect which banishes an opponent's monster is a Quick Effect that targets one of your opponent's monsters. Returning the monsters to the field does not start a Chain Link.[1]
  • The increase to ATK lasts as long as this card remains face-up on the field.[1]
  • If "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" is face-down when its effect resolves, then it is banished face-down and returns to the field in face-down Defence Position. Do not increase its ATK.[5]


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Konami OCG FAQ: Effect Monster > Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon
  2. 2.0 2.1 Konami OCG FAQ: Can you Advance Summon "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" from your hand?
  3. Konami OCG FAQ: Please explain the order in which effects activate when "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" and "Number 39: Utopia" battle.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Konami OCG FAQ: How do you resolve it when you activate the effect of "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" when its original owner battles his own monster?
  5. Konami OCG FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon", can you banish it even if it becomes face-down?
  6. Konami OCG FAQ: Is the banishing effect applied if "Magic Cylinder" is Chained to "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon"?
  7. Konami OCG FAQ: If one of the monsters banished by "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" is no longer banished because of "Burial from a Different Dimension", then does it return at the end of the Battle Phase?
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 Konami OCG FAQ: If "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" battles with and banishes a Token or "Embodiment of Apophis", then do they return to the field at the end of the Battle Phase?
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.