TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

On Negating the Effect

  • Skill Drain: The effect of "Skill Drain" negates the effects of Effect Monsters that are face-up on the field. Thus, it cannot negate the effect of a monster if the monster is in the Graveyard when the monster's activated effect is resolving. "Exiled Force" and "Rescue Cat" Tributes itself or sends itself to the Graveyard as activation costs for their effects, so the monsters are in the Graveyard when their effects resolve. Thus, "Skill Drain" cannot negate their effects, so you will destroy the monster or Special Summon the Beast-Type monsters from your Deck.[6]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

  • You cannot activate the effect of "Exiled Force" if it is the only monster on the field.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Cyber Blader: ...The opponent has 3 monsters on the field, 1 of them is "Exiled Force". The opponent Tributes "Exiled Force" to activate its effect and destroy "Cyber Blader". Now they only have 2 monsters on the field, so the effect of "Exiled Force" is not negated and "Cyber Blader" is destroyed.
  • Stumbling: If "Stumbling" is in effect and you Summon "Exiled Force", and your opponent has "Trap Hole" Set, "Stumbling" initiates a chain with "Stumbling"'s effect as Step 1. Your opponent can activate "Trap Hole" as Step 2. You cannot chain "Exiled Force" because its effect is Spell Speed 1. Therefore "Trap Hole" will destroy "Exiled Force" before you have a chance to Tribute it.

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings


  1. This is no longer correct due to the removal of Ignition Effect priority. Ignition Effects cannot be activated in the Summon response window.


  1. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Alector, Sovereign of Birds" negate an effect that does not activate on the field, or an effect if the card is not on the field at resolution?
  2. Konami FAQ: When "Exiled Force" is Special Summoned by "Debris Dragon", when it activates its effect, is the effect negated even when the monster is no longer on the field?
  3. Konami FAQ: If you activate the effect of a "Exiled Force" which is affected by the effect of "Effect Veiler", then is it negated?
  4. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Forbidden Chalice" negate the effect of a monster which is not on the field?
  5. Konami FAQ: Can you gain control of a monster that is negated by "Majestic Star Dragon" and activate its effect?
  6. 6.0 6.1 Konami FAQ: While "Skill Drain" is active, can an opponent's monster be destroyed by the effect of "Exiled Force"?
  7. Konami FAQ: If "Majestic Star Dragon" negates "Exiled Force", then can its effect be activated?
  8. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  16. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.