FANDOM


Line 63: Line 63:
 
* You can chain "[[Divine Wrath]]" to the effect of "[[King Dragun]]" that Special summons a [[Dragon]]-[[Type]] monster.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
 
* You can chain "[[Divine Wrath]]" to the effect of "[[King Dragun]]" that Special summons a [[Dragon]]-[[Type]] monster.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
   
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when the opponent uses "[[Relinquished]]"’s effect to equip itself with a monster<s>, or when "[[Relinquished]]"’s effect inflicts damage</s>.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/><ref group=Notes>The newest errata of "[[Relinquished]]" has [[Problem-Solving Card Text]] which shows its effect to inflict damage is a [[Continuous Effect]] and not a [[Trigger Effect]].</ref>
+
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when the opponent uses "[[Relinquished]]"’s effect to equip itself with a monster<s>, or when "[[Relinquished]]"’s effect inflicts damage</s>.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/><ref group="Out of Date">The newest errata of "[[Relinquished]]" has [[Problem-Solving Card Text]] which shows its effect to inflict damage is a [[Continuous Effect]] and not a [[Trigger Effect]].</ref>
   
 
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when a [[Spirit monster]] is returned to the owner’s hand by its own effect, and the [[Spirit monster]] will be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
 
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when a [[Spirit monster]] is returned to the owner’s hand by its own effect, and the [[Spirit monster]] will be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
Line 75: Line 75:
 
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when the effect of "[[Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning]]" activates that allows it to attack a second time.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
 
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when the effect of "[[Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning]]" activates that allows it to attack a second time.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
   
* You cannot chain "[[Divine Wrath]]" to [[Continuous Effects]] such as: "[[Perfect Machine King]]", "[[Raging Flame Sprite]]" (either effect),<ref group=Notes name="Continuous">The newest errata of "[[Raging Flame Sprite]]" has [[Problem-Solving Card Text]] which shows its second effect is a [[Trigger Effect]] and not a [[Continuous Effect]].</ref> "[[Jinzo]]", "[[Fire Princess]]", "[[Mad Sword Beast]]", "[[Hayabusa Knight]]", "[[Cat's Ear Tribe|Cat’s Ear Tribe]]", "[[Amazoness Swords Woman]]", "[[Harpie Lady 3]]", {{sic|"[[Fusilier Dragon, the Dual-Mode Beast|Fusilier Dragon the Dual-Mode Beast]]"}}, "[[The Fiend Megacyber]]", "[[Blade Knight]]" (either effect), "[[Patrician of Darkness]]", or monsters like "[[Element Saurus]]" that gain ATK continuously.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
+
* You cannot chain "[[Divine Wrath]]" to [[Continuous Effects]] such as: "[[Perfect Machine King]]", "[[Raging Flame Sprite]]" <s>(either effect)</s><ref group="Out of Date" name="Continuous">The newest errata of "[[Raging Flame Sprite]]" has [[Problem-Solving Card Text]] which shows its second effect is a [[Trigger Effect]] and not a [[Continuous Effect]].</ref>, "[[Jinzo]]", "[[Fire Princess]]", "[[Mad Sword Beast]]", "[[Hayabusa Knight]]", "[[Cat's Ear Tribe|Cat’s Ear Tribe]]", "[[Amazoness Swords Woman]]", "[[Harpie Lady 3]]", {{sic|"[[Fusilier Dragon, the Dual-Mode Beast|Fusilier Dragon the Dual-Mode Beast]]"}}, "[[The Fiend Megacyber]]", "[[Blade Knight]]" (either effect), "[[Patrician of Darkness]]", or monsters like "[[Element Saurus]]" that gain ATK continuously.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
   
 
* You cannot activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when "[[Giant Orc]]", "[[Goblin Attack Force]]", or "[[Spear Dragon]]" changes to Defense Position because these are considered [[Continuous Effects]].<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
 
* You cannot activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when "[[Giant Orc]]", "[[Goblin Attack Force]]", or "[[Spear Dragon]]" changes to Defense Position because these are considered [[Continuous Effects]].<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
Line 83: Line 83:
 
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when any [[Union Monster]] activates its effect to equip itself to another monster, because that is an [[Ignition Effect]]. However, you cannot activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when a [[Union Monster]] Special Summons itself back as a monster, because that is an effect of an [[Equip Spell Card]].<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
 
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when any [[Union Monster]] activates its effect to equip itself to another monster, because that is an [[Ignition Effect]]. However, you cannot activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when a [[Union Monster]] Special Summons itself back as a monster, because that is an effect of an [[Equip Spell Card]].<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
   
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when a "[[LV]]" monster is sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon the next level version (an Ignition Effect<ref group=Notes>Some "LV" monsters have [[Problem-Solving Card Text]], which makes clear that the effect to Special Summon the next "LV" monster is [[Trigger Effect]].</ref>), and "[[Divine Wrath]]" will negate that effect, even though it cannot destroy the "LV" monster because it is already in the Graveyard.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
+
* You can activate "[[Divine Wrath]]" when a "[[LV]]" monster is sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon the next level version (an <s>[[Ignition Effect]]</s><ref group="Out of Date">Some "LV" monsters have [[Problem-Solving Card Text]], which makes clear that the effect to Special Summon the next "LV" monster is [[Trigger Effect]].</ref>), and "[[Divine Wrath]]" will negate that effect, even though it cannot destroy the "LV" monster because it is already in the Graveyard.<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
   
 
* After you negate the effect of "[[Sinister Serpent]]" with "[[Divine Wrath]]", your opponent can activate the effect of "[[Sinister Serpent]]" again to return it to his hand, even during the same [[Standby Phase]].<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
 
* After you negate the effect of "[[Sinister Serpent]]" with "[[Divine Wrath]]", your opponent can activate the effect of "[[Sinister Serpent]]" again to return it to his hand, even during the same [[Standby Phase]].<ref name="UDE-FAQ"/>
Line 123: Line 123:
   
 
* '''[[Card Rulings:Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union|Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union]]''': When “[[Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union]]” is Fusion Summoned by “[[Vehicroid Connection Zone]]” and afterwards the “[[Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union]]” activates its effect to equip with a monster, “[[Divine Wrath]]” can be [[chain]]ed to [[negate]] the effect<ref group=Notes>"[[Divine Wrath]]" negates the activation of the effect, not the effect itself.</ref> but the “[[Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union]]” will not be destroyed.
 
* '''[[Card Rulings:Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union|Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union]]''': When “[[Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union]]” is Fusion Summoned by “[[Vehicroid Connection Zone]]” and afterwards the “[[Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union]]” activates its effect to equip with a monster, “[[Divine Wrath]]” can be [[chain]]ed to [[negate]] the effect<ref group=Notes>"[[Divine Wrath]]" negates the activation of the effect, not the effect itself.</ref> but the “[[Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union]]” will not be destroyed.
 
* '''[[Card Rulings:Uria, Lord of Searing Flames|Uria, Lord of Searing Flames]]''': When a player [[Special Summon]]s "[[Uria, Lord of Searing Flames]]" and [[activate]]s its effect to [[destroy]] a [[Set]] [[Spell]] or [[Trap]] Card, no [[Spell]] or [[Trap]] Card can be [[chain]]ed, including..."[[Divine Wrath]]".<ref group=Notes name="Priority">Due to the removal of [[Ignition Effect]] [[priority]], Ignition Effects cannot be activated in the [[Summon response window]] as this ruling implies.</ref>
 
   
 
* '''[[Card Rulings:Zoma the Spirit|Zoma the Spirit]]''': "[[Divine Wrath]]" cannot be chained to "[[Skull Zoma]]'s" effect because it is a Trap Card in the Graveyard.
 
* '''[[Card Rulings:Zoma the Spirit|Zoma the Spirit]]''': "[[Divine Wrath]]" cannot be chained to "[[Skull Zoma]]'s" effect because it is a Trap Card in the Graveyard.
  +
  +
===Out of Date===
  +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Uria, Lord of Searing Flames|Uria, Lord of Searing Flames]]''': When a player [[Special Summon]]s "[[Uria, Lord of Searing Flames]]" and [[activate]]s its effect to [[destroy]] a [[Set]] [[Spell]] or [[Trap]] Card, no [[Spell]] or [[Trap]] Card can be [[chain]]ed, including..."[[Divine Wrath]]".<ref group="Out of Date" name="Priority">Due to the removal of [[Ignition Effect]] [[priority]], Ignition Effects cannot be activated in the [[Summon response window]] as this ruling implies.</ref>
 
}}
 
}}
   
Line 134: Line 135:
 
==Notes==
 
==Notes==
 
<references group="Notes"/>
 
<references group="Notes"/>
  +
<references group="Out of Date"/>
   
 
==References==
 
==References==

Revision as of 19:42, June 4, 2015

TCG Rulings

Mention in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • This card cannot be chained to effects that activate in the Main Deck.[1]

Versus Specific Cards

  • Freed the Matchless General: The effect of "Freed the Matchless General" can only be activated when you draw during your Draw Phase. Suppose you control two copies of "Freed the Matchless General". If you activate the effect of one copy, then you cannot activate the effect of the second copy in a new Chain after the first one resolves, since the activation timing is no longer correct. Thus, if you activate the effect of one copy and its activation and effect are negated by "Divine Wrath", then you cannot activate the effect of the second copy after "Divine Wrath" resolves, since the activation timing is no longer correct.[8]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • During the Damage Step, in general, you cannot activate Spell/Trap Cards other than Counter Trap Cards and ATK/DEF-increasing/decreasing effects. Thus, you cannot activate "Book of Moon" nor "Raigeki Break", but you can activate the Counter Trap "Divine Wrath" during the Damage Step.[15]

Previously Official Rulings

  • If you activate "Divine Wrath" during the Damage Step to destroy the attacking monster or the monster being attacked, the monster is destroyed. No replay occurs because a replay can only happen during the Battle Step. If damage calculation has not been performed yet, it is not performed.[16]
  • You can activate "Divine Wrath" when "Vampire Lord" or "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" activate their effects in the Graveyard, and their effects are negated and they are not Special Summoned; but because they cannot be "destroyed" while in the Graveyard, they are not destroyed by a card effect so their effect will not activate again.[16]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Out of Date


Video Game Rulings

Notes

  1. "Divine Wrath" negates the activation of the effect, not the effect itself.
  1. The newest errata of "Relinquished" has Problem-Solving Card Text which shows its effect to inflict damage is a Continuous Effect and not a Trigger Effect.
  2. The newest errata of "Raging Flame Sprite" has Problem-Solving Card Text which shows its second effect is a Trigger Effect and not a Continuous Effect.
  3. Some "LV" monsters have Problem-Solving Card Text, which makes clear that the effect to Special Summon the next "LV" monster is Trigger Effect.
  4. Due to the removal of Ignition Effect priority, Ignition Effects cannot be activated in the Summon response window as this ruling implies.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can "Divine Wrath" and "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" be activated during the Damage Step?
  2. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can "Divine Wrath" and "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" be activated during the Damage Step?
  3. Konami FAQ: When the activation of the effect of "Blackwing - Sirocco the Dawn" is negated, can other monsters declare attacks?
  4. Konami FAQ: Does the effect which removes from play "Dark Magician of Chaos" begin a chain (for "Divine Wrath")?
  5. 5.0 5.1 Konami FAQ: If "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror" is active and "Ehren, Lightsworn Monk" attacks a Flip Effect monster, then is the Flip Effect negated?
  6. Konami FAQ: When the effect of "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero" activates in the Extra Deck, can "Divine Wrath" be activated?
  7. Konami OCG FAQ: Can "Divine Wrath" (etc) be activated when "Exodia the Forbidden One" (etc) are in the hand?
  8. Konami FAQ: If you control two copies of "Freed the Matchless General" and "Divine Wrath" negates the activation of the effect of one copy, then can the effect of the other "Freed the Matchless General" be activated?
  9. Konami FAQ: When the effect of "Majestic Star Dragon" which negates the effects of an Effect Monster activates, does it start a Chain Link?
  10. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Stardust Dragon" be activated in Chain to the activation of a Counter Trap Card?
  11. Konami FAQ: When "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" does not negate the activation of the effect of a card, can it Special Summon itself during the End Phase?
  12. Konami FAQ: Can "Divine Wrath" be activated if "Sun Dragon Inti" is in the Extra Deck?
  13. 13.0 13.1 Konami FAQ: Can "Sword Master" be Special Summoned if the attacked monster is destroyed by an effect after damage calculation?
  14. 14.0 14.1 Konami FAQ: The effect of "The Fabled Unicore" can negate an opponent's card if the hand sizes are the same at what time?
  15. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate Quick-Play Spell Cards, Counter Trap Cards, and so on during the Damage Step?
  16. 16.00 16.01 16.02 16.03 16.04 16.05 16.06 16.07 16.08 16.09 16.10 16.11 16.12 16.13 16.14 16.15 16.16 16.17 16.18 16.19 16.20 UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  17. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  18. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  19. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  26. Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's World Championship 2010: Reverse of Arcadia: Glossary > Divine Wrath
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.