Previously Official Rulings

  • If all 5 of your Spell / Trap Card Zones are full during your End Phase of the turn "Dark Necrofear" was destroyed while a Monster Card, you cannot activate its effect, and the effect disappears.
  • If this card was discarded from your hand by an opponent's card effect, such as "Confiscation" it does not become an Equip Spell Card during the End Phase, since it was not destroyed.
  • If it is destroyed by your opponent's "Harpie's Feather Duster", "Dust Tornado", etc. while it is an Equip Spell Card, "Dark Necrofear" will NOT return during the End Phase since it was NOT destroyed while a Monster Card.
  • If your "Dark Necrofear" is destroyed on your opponent's side of the field, by either player's card effect, it will not activate during the End Phase. It must be on your side of the field and sent to your Graveyard when it is destroyed for its effect to activate.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Spell Canceller: When "Spell Canceller" is face-up on the field, you can activate the Graveyard effect of "Dark Necrofear" (because it is a monster effect) and equip it to a monster, but the effect of "Dark Necrofear" after it is equipped will be negated because it is then an Equip Spell Card.
  • Spirit Elimination: Any conditions set on the Monster Cards that would be removed from the Graveyard must still be fulfilled on the Monsters removed from your side of the field. For example, to Special Summon "Dark Necrofear" you must remove 3 Fiend-Type Monsters from your side of the field.

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings


  1. This card's latest errata states that it activate its effect if it destroyed on the field, not in Summon negation window, Which makes this ruling invalid.
  2. Version 8.0 of the official rulebook states that monsters treated as Equip Card (except Union monsters equipped by their own effects) cannot have their equip target changed.
  3. The latest errata of "A Deal with Dark Ruler" is part of the Problem-Solving Card Text update, and indicates that the card must be a Level 8 monster on the field and in the Graveyard.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  2. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  3. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.