TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Power Giant: You decrease Power Giant’s Level by the original Level of the monster you sent to the Graveyard, even if you used a monster whose Level was reduced by Cost Down.

OCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Flelf: If you activate "Cost Down" and then activate the effect of "Flelf", then the Level of "Flelf" increases by the revealed monster's decreased Level.[3]
    • Example: If you reveal a monster whose original Level is 4 but is currently treated as Level 2 due to "Cost Down", then the Level of "Flelf" increases by two.[3]

Previously Official Rulings

  • The Level of a monster which is Summoned using "Cost Down" is still decreased by 2 after Summoning. The 2 Level reduction lasts until the End Phase.
  • You can use multiple "Cost Downs" in the same turn and their effects accumulate, so 3 "Cost Downs" lowers the level by 6 Stars.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Behemoth the King of All Animals: It is possible to "properly" Tribute Summon "Behemoth the King of All Animals" with just 1 Tribute. For example, you can Tribute Summon it with "Trojan Horse", or use "Cost Down" and then Tribute 1 monster because "Behemoth the King of All Animals" is only Level 5. In cases such as this, either 2000 ATK or 2700 ATK is correct, so the controller can select which ATK it will have.
  • Contract with the Abyss: "Cost Down" will not reduce the number of Level Stars needed to perform a Ritual Summon, even if used with "Contract with the Abyss".
  • Double Attack: If you use "Cost Down" so that your "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" in your hand is Level 6, then you cannot discard it to activate "Double Attack" and target your Level 7 "Dark Magician" on the field.
  • Level Conversion Lab: If "Cost Down" resolves and lowers the Levels of monsters in your hand, then you use "Level Conversion Lab", the effect of "Level Conversion Lab" overwrites the effect of "Cost Down". But if you resolve "Level Conversion Lab" first, and then activate and resolve "Cost Down", "Cost Down" will lower whatever the result was from "Level Conversion Lab".
  • Magical Thorn:The effect of "Magical Thorn" is applied when the opponent discards during the End Phase to make their hand size 6, discarding for the cost of cards such as..."Cost Down"...
  • Magical Thorn: If the opponent discards from their hand as a cost to activate a card like "Cost Down" and you chain "Magical Thorn" they will not take any damage...
  • Maju Garzett: "Maju Garzett"'s ATK will be 0 if you...Tribute Summon it with only 1 Tribute using "Cost Down"...
  • Precious Cards from Beyond: If you Tribute Summon "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" for 1 Tribute using "Cost Down", you can't activate "Precious Cards from Beyond"'s effect.
  • Spirit of the Pharaoh: If a Zombie-Type monster had its Level reduced by "Cost Down", that reduction no longer applies when it is in the Graveyard.
  • Thousand Energy: If you use "Cost Down" to make a Level 4 monster into a Level 2 monster, Summon it, and use "Thousand Energy", during the End Phase you can choose which effect happens first, so you can restore it to Level 4 first by ending "Cost Down"'s effect, and then it will not be destroyed by the effect of "Thousand Energy".

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Majestic Mech - Goryu / Majestic Mech - Ohka: If you activate "Cost Down" and Normal Summon "Majestic Mech - Ohka" without Tributes (because it is Level 4) or "Majestic Mech - Goryu" with 1 Tribute (because it is Level 6), their effects will still activate during the End Phase and they will be sent to the Graveyard.[Notes 1]


  1. The latest errata of "Majestic Mech - Goryu" and "Majestic Mech - Ohka" specifies that they will only send themselves to the Graveyard during the End Phase if they were Summoned with fewer Tributes due to their own effects.


  1. Konami OCG FAQ: If you Summon "Montage Dragon" by sending to the Graveyard monsters whose Levels have changed, then what is its ATK?
  2. Konami FAQ: If "Eccentric Boy" is used as a Synchro Material and the Levels of monsters in your hand has changed, then you use the Level at what time?
  3. 3.0 3.1 Konami OCG FAQ: If you activate the effect of "Flelf" by revealing a monster whose Level has decreased due to "Cost Down", then do you increase its Level?
  4. Konami OCG FAQ: With the effect of "Relieve Monster", can you Special Summon a monster whose Level is 4 because of some effect?
  5. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]