TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Konami Judge Program Forum

OCG Rulings

  • This card cannot be activated in the Damage Step. Also, Ultimate Offering works the same. (You cannot activate its effect that increases or decreases the number of the monsters as well)[5]
  • If this card Special Summons a monster during the Battle Phase, you can attack with the monster.[6][7]

On Chaining this Card

On Replays

  • If your monster attacks and you activate "Call of the Haunted", a replay does NOT occur since the number of monsters your opponent controls doesn't change.[11]

Versus Normal Summon Monsters

Versus Special Summon-only Monsters


In Other Rulings

  • If a monster that declared an attack is sent to the Graveyard, then it is no longer treated as a monster that declared an attack. Thus, if a monster attacks and is destroyed by "Mirror Force" and is then Special Summoned by "Call of the Haunted", then it can attack a second time.[20]

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Judge List Rulings


  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: Call of the haunted and the monster targeted by it.
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Blue Rose Dragon
  4. Konami Judge Program Forum: Call of the Haunted and Starlight Road
  5. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Is it possible to activate "Call of the Haunted" during the Damage Step?
  6. 6.0 6.1 Konami FAQ: [Battle Phase] After all monsters have finished attacking, can you activate "Call of the Haunted"?
  7. 7.0 7.1 Konami FAQ: [Battle Phase] During the Battle Phase can you attack with a monster Special Summoned by "Call of the Haunted"?
  8. Konami FAQ: When the effect of "Vanity's Fiend" is active, can you activate the effect of "Black Garden" which destroys monsters and Special Summons a monster from your Graveyard?
  9. Konami FAQ: While "Dark Simorgh" is on the field, how do you resolve the effect of "Guardian Sphinx" which makes it face-down?
  10. Konami FAQ: [Replay] Plese explain what happens when you activate "Magic Cylinder" and a replay occurs.
  11. Konami FAQ: [Replay] When "Magic Cylinder" is activated, does a Replay occur when "Call of the Haunted" is chained?
  12. Konami FAQ: [Replay] With "Magical Arm Shield" vs "Call of the Haunted", does a replay occur?
  13. Konami FAQ: [Replay] Please explain what happens when attacking and "Shift" is activated and then "Call of the Haunted" causes a Replay.
  14. Konami FAQ: Is "Quickdraw Synchron" a Special Summon monster?
  15. Konami FAQ: Can "Armityle the Chaos Phantasm" and "XYZ-Dragon Cannon" be Special Summoned from the Graveyard?
  16. Konami FAQ: Can "Backup Warrior" be Special Summoned by effects like "Monster Reborn"?
  17. Konami FAQ: Can an effect like "Monster Reborn" Special Summon "Dragon Queen of Tragic Endings" from the Graveyard?
  18. Konami FAQ: Can the "Stardust Dragon" Special Summoned by the effect of "Starlight Road" be Special Summoned from the Graveyard?
  19. Konami FAQ: If "Call of the Haunted" is negated by "Royal Decree", then is the monster destroyed?
  20. Konami OCG FAQ: If you Special Summon a monster with "Call of the Haunted" after it attacks, then can it attack again?
  21. 21.0 21.1 21.2 Konami FAQ: If "Solemn Judgment" negates the Flip Summon of a monster, then afterwards can it be Special Summoned from the Graveyard?
  22. 22.0 22.1 Konami FAQ: When a monster is Special Summoned in the middle of resolving a Chain, can you draw by the effect of "Card of Safe Return"?
  23. 23.0 23.1 Konami OCG FAQ: What kinds of Special Summons can "Evolzar Laggia" negate?
  24. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate "Call of the Haunted" and "The Shallow Grave" (and so on) while "Heat Wave" is active?
  25. Konami OCG FAQ: Spell Card > Necrovalley
  26. 26.0 26.1 Konami FAQ: Can "Solemn Warning" be Chained to a Spell or Trap Card which does not include Special Summoning?
  27. 27.0 27.1 Konami FAQ: Is "Starlight Road" activated directly in Chain to an effect which destroys?
  28. UDE Judge List: Ritual/Fusion Monsters vs. Legal Revival Target
  29. UDE Judge List: Call of the Haunted - Jinzo vs MST
  30. UDE Judge List: Jinzo vs Call of the Haunted
  31. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  32. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  33. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  34. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  35. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  36. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  37. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  38. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  39. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.