- The "During either player's turn, when this face-down card (and no other cards) is targeted by a Spell Card: Change this card to face-up Defense Position, and if you do, negate the Spell Card's activation." effect is a Quick Effect. (This effect must be activated in chain to the activation of a Spell Card that targeted this face-down card and no other cards. It does not target.)
- This effect cannot be activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of a Spell Card. It must be chained to the activation of a Spell Card.
- Changing "Big Shield Gardna" to face-up Defense Position and negating the activation of a Spell Card are considered to happen simultaneously.
- The "If this card is attacked, change it to Attack Position at the end of the Damage Step." effect is a Continuous Effect.
Previously Official Rulings
|These TCG rulings were issued by Upper Deck Entertainment and have since been deemed unofficial by Konami. They were previously considered official and can still be correct, as long as they follow the official gameplay rules, or unless Konami has issued a ruling that says otherwise. References: |
- The latest errata of "Big Shield Gardna" makes it clear that its negation effect is a Quick Effect. This ruling could only be the case if it was a Continuous Effect.
- The latest errata of "Big Shield Gardna" makes it clear that its effect to change itself to Attack Position is a Continuous Effect. This ruling could only be the case if the effect went on a Chain.
- Konami OCG Card Database: Big Shield Gardna
- UDE Judge List: big shield gardna vs. soul exchange
- Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
- UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS
*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.